Announcing the Cezairliyan Prize

The Editors and Publishers of International Journal of Thermophysics are delighted to announce the creation of an annual best paper award, to be named after the journal’s founding Editor, Dr Ared Cezairliyan.  The creation of this award coincides with the 40th anniversary of the launch of the journal, which published its first issue in March 1980.

The Cezairliyan Prize will recognise a paper judged to make a significant advance in the field of thermophysics, published in IJT in the previous calendar year, and will be selected by a prize committee from the journal’s Editorial Board.  It will carry a certificate and a cash award of €1500 for the author, and will be presented at the main thermophysics conference in each year (the Symposium on Thermophysical Properties, the European Conference on Thermophysical Properties, or the Asian Thermophysical Properties Conference).

New Content Item

Ared Cezairliyan was an internationally acclaimed physicist in the field of high-temperature thermophysics, who was appointed as a researcher at the National Bureau of Standards (now NIST) and founded the now world-renowned Dynamic Thermophysical Measurements Laboratory.  He did pioneering work in the field of measurements of thermodynamic and transport properties of metals and alloys at high temperatures with dynamic techniques.  He founded the International Journal of Thermophysics in 1980 and served as its Editor-in-Chief until his death in 1997 [1], setting the standards for an internationally-respected journal known to all of those working in the field.

Recently appointed Editor-in-Chief, Professor Marc Assael, said “I am delighted that we are able to honor the memory of Ared Cezairliyan with this new award.  Ared created the International Journal of Thermophysics and set the benchmark for editorial standards in the journal.  I am sure that the winning articles selected in this and future years will reflect the depth and breadth of the research now covered in IJT.”  

2020 Winner : Gavin Sutton (UK), Alexander Fateev (Denmark), Miguel A. Rodríguez‑Conejo, Juan Meléndez, and Guillermo Guarnizo (Spain), “Validation of Emission Spectroscopy Gas Temperature Measurements Using a Standard Flame Traceable to the International Temperature Scale of 1990 (ITS‑90)”, Int. J. Thermophys. 40:99 (2019) 

[1] Sengers, J.V. In Memoriam—Ared Cezairliyan (1934–1997). International Journal of Thermophysics 19, 351–353 (1998).