Congratulations Hale & Harvey Prize Winners 2021

The American Astronomical Society's Solar Physics Division (AAS/SPD) announces prizewinners

© SpringerSpringer Nature's journal Solar Physics has traditionally granted personal free access for five years to the winner of the Karen Harvey Prize of the American Astronomical Society Solar Physics Division (AAS/SPD).

The 2021 George Ellery Hale Prize is awarded to Dr. Russ Howard for his seminal contributions over almost half a century to the discovery, measurement, and understanding of coronal mass ejections (CMEs) and their role in space weather and for his outstanding leadership in the development, deployment, and management of innovative space instrumentation to image the solar corona and inner heliosphere that forms the foundation of much current Heliophysics research. 

Dr. Howard has been a leader in the development and use of coronagraphs and, later, heliospheric imagers since earliest days of CME observations by OSO-7 and Solwind, through the SOHO LASCO coronagraphs and STEREO SECCHI instrument suite, to WISPER and SOLO-HI on the recently launched Parker Solar Probe and Solar Orbiter, serving as the Primary Investigator of the last four simultaneously. His work on statistical properties of CMEs and on Earth-directed (halo) CMEs have been key to understanding their impacts on the Earth and heliosphere.

The Hale prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to solar astronomy over an extended period of time and is presented in memory of George Ellery Hale (1868-1938).

The 2021 Karen Harvey Prize for significant contributions to the study of the Sun early in a person's professional career is awarded to Dr. Lucia Kleint. Her contributions are numerous, among them observations and modeling of turbulent magnetic fields in the quiet Sun; analysis of unprecedented high precision spectropolarimetric and spectroscopic measurements of the photosphere and chromosphere during flares; and applications of machine learning techniques to flare data. 

Dr. Kleint coordinated the flight software team for the Spectrometer/Telescope for Imaging X-rays (STIX), now flying on Solar Orbiter. She then led the German solar telescopes on Tenerife, where she spearheaded a major redesign and upgrade of the optical system and operations of the GREGOR telescope. She now leads a research group at the University of Geneva, Switzerland.

The Harvey Prize recognizes a significant contribution to the study of the Sun early in a person's professional career and honors the memory of Karen L. Harvey (1942-2002).

[AAS/SPD Jan 12, 2021 Hale Prize | Harvey Prize]