Series Editor
  • Asher Ben-Arieh

About the Editor

Asher Ben-Arieh, PhD, is the Haruv Chair for the Study of Child Maltreatment at the Paul Baerwald School of Social Work and Social Welfare at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. In the years 2007-2011 he headed the Joseph J. Schwartz Program. He served as project director and editor of the Statistical Abstract – Annual State of the Child in Israel, for over 20 years. He initiated and coordinated the multi-national project “Measuring and Monitoring Children’s Well-Being”, and was among the founding members of the International Society for Child Indicators (ISCI) and was elected as its first chairperson in 2005. Prof. Ben-Arieh is one of the leading international experts on social indicators, particularly as they relate to children’s wellbeing. He has written and published extensively on the politics of social policy and children’s wellbeing in Israel, and on children’s wellbeing indicators and their measurement. Prof. Ben-Arieh is the founder and editor-in-chief of the Child Indicators Research (CIR) journal. 

Editorial Advisory Board

J. Lawrence Aber, New York University, USA
Jonathan Bradshaw, University of York, UK
Ferran Casas, University of Girona, Spain
Ick-Joong Chung, Ewha Women’s University, South Korea
Howard Dubowitz, University of Maryland, USA
Ivar Frones, University of Oslo, Sweden
Frank F. Furstenberg, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Robbie Gilligan, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Robert M. George, University of Chicago, USA
Ian Gough, London School of Economics, UK
An-Magritt Jensen, Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology, Norway
Sheila B. Kamerman, Columbia University, USA
Jill E. Korbin, University of California Los Angeles, USA
Dagmar Kutsar, University of Tartu, Estonia
Kenneth C. Land, Duke University, USA 
Bong Joo Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea
Jan Mason, Western Sydney University, Australia
Kristin A. Moore, ChildTrends, USA
Bernhard Nauck, Hamburg University, Germany
Usha S. Nayar, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, India 
Shelley Phipps, Dalhousie University, Canada
Jackie Sanders, Massey University, New Zealand
Thomas S. Weisner, University of California Los Angeles, USA
Helmut Wintersberger, University of Vienna, Austria