Series Editor
  • Sarah Marusek
  • Anne Wagner
Advisory Editor
  • José Manuel Aroso Linhares
  • Larry Catá Backer
  • Kristian Bankov
  • Vijay Bhatia
  • Katherine Biber
  • Patrícia Branco
  • John Brigham
  • Jan Broekman
  • Angela Condello
  • Renee Ann Cramer
  • Marcel Danesi
  • Michal Dudek
  • Mark Featherstone
  • Marcilio Franca
  • Nathalie Hauksson-Tresch
  • Lung-Lung Hu
  • Miklós Könczöl
  • Anita Lam
  • Massimo Leone
  • Francesco Mangiapane
  • Aleksandra Matulewska
  • Rostam Neuwirth
  • Timothy D. Peters
  • Andreas Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos
  • Richard Powell
  • Mario Ricca
  • Julia J. A. Shaw
  • Richard K. Sherwin
  • Mateusz Stępień
  • Kieran Mark Tranter
  • Farid Samir Benavides Vanegas
  • Riccardo Vecellio Segate
  • Denis Voinot
  • Xu Youping

About the Editor

Series Editors: 

Sarah Marusek is Professor of Public Law in the Department of Political Science at the University of Hawai‘i Hilo. Her research examines how law happens in everyday life through the fields of visual jurisprudence, legal semiotics, legal landscapes/aesthetics, and the constitutive approach to law and society. She has written three books, Law, Space and the Vehicular Environment (Routledge, 2022), Law and the Kinetic Environment: Regulating Dynamic Landscapes (Routledge, 2021), and Politics of Parking: Rights, Identity and Property (Routledge, 2016), edited several volumes, including Flags, Color, and the Legal Narrative: Public Memory, Identity, and Critique (Springer 2021) with Anne Wagner, and authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles. She serves as co-editor of the Law and Visual Jurisprudence Book Series (Springer), Associate Editor for International Journal for the Semiotics of Law, and Vice President for the International Roundtables for the Semiotics of Law. She has held visiting positions at public universities in Sweden, Italy, and Australia (Canberra and Brisbane) and conducted grant-funded research in Iceland, California, Oregon, and locally on Hawai‘i Island. Professor Marusek has taught at the University of Hawai‘i Hilo since 2009, where she is a recipient of the student-nominated, faculty-awarded University of Hawai‘i Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and teaches courses in jurisprudence, public law, and legal geography. https://orcid.org/0000-0002-7589-9503.

Anne Wagner (Ph.D. and Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches in Private Law) is Research Associate Professor at Lille University, ULR 4487-CRDP-Centre de Recherche Droits et Perspectives du Droit (France). Her main research lies in visual jurisprudence, legal semiotics, visual studies, language and law, legal culture and heritage, legal translation, legal terminology, law and the Humanities, and legal discourse studies. She is a recipient of the National Research Award (Rank A) for her research career. She is the Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal for the Semiotics of Law (Springer), President of the International Roundtables for the Semiotics of Law, Series Co-Editor of Law, Language and Communication (Routledge), and Series Co-Editor of Law and Visual Jurisprudence (Springer). She was invited as Visiting Research Fellow at Örebro University (Sweden), China University of Political Science and Law, Zhejiang University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Zhejiang Police College, City University of Hong Kong. She delivered lectures in Italy, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, Germany, Spain, Finland, UK, Portugal, Estonia, China, Hong Kong, Brazil, Israel, Australia, and USA. She is the author of La Langue de la Common Law (L’Harmattan 2002).  She co-edited many reference books, including Prospects of Legal Semiotics (Springer 2010); Law, Culture and Visual Studies (Springer 2013); The Ashgate Handbook on Legal Translation (Ashgate 2014); and Flags, Identity, Memory: Critiquing the Narrative Through Color (2022, Springer, Winner of the 2021 Gherardi Davis Prize of the Flag Research Center). https://orcid.org/0000-0001-6362-9023.

Advisory Editors: 
José Manuel Aroso Linhares, University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal
Larry Catá Backer, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, USA
Kristian Bankov, New Bulgarian University, Sofia, Bulgaria and Sichuan University, Sichuan, China
Vijay Bhatia, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Katherine Biber, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia
Patrícia Branco, University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal
John Brigham, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA
Jan Broekman, KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium and Pennsylvania State University, USA
Angela Condello, University of Turin, Turin, Italy
Renee Ann Cramer, Drake University, Des Moines, USA
Marcel Danesi, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
Michał Dudek, Jagiellonian University, Cracow, Poland
Mark Featherstone, Keele University, Keele, UK
Marcilio Toscano Franca-Filho, Federal University of Paraíba, Paraíba, Brazil
Nathalie Hauksson-Tresch, Linnaeus University, Växjö, Sweden
Lung-Lung Hu, Dalarna University, Falun, Sweden
Miklós Könczöl, Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Budapest, Hungary
Anita Lam, York University, Toronto, Canada
Massimo Leone, University of Turin, Turin, Italy
Francesco Mangiapane, University of Palermo, Palermo, Italy
Aleksandra Matulewska, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, Poland
Rostam J. Neuwirth, University of Macao, Taipa, Macao
Timothy D. Peters, University of Sunshine Coast, Sippy Downs, Australia
Andreas Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos, University of Westminster, London, UK
Richard Powell, Nihon University, Tokyo, Japan
Marco Ricca, University of Parma, Parma, Italy
Julia J. A. Shaw, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK
Richard K. Sherwin, New York Law School, New York, USA
Mateusz Stępień, Jagiellonian University, Cracow, Poland
Kieran Mark Tranter, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia
Farid Samir Benavides Vanegas, Universidad Católica de Colombia, Bogotá, Colombia
Riccardo Vecellio Segate, University of Dundee, Scotland, UK
Denis Voinot, Lille University, Lille, France
Xu Youping, Guangdong University of Foreign Studies, Guangzhou, China