skip to context

Springer Nature and Tsinghua University Press present the fifth Nano Research Award

Chad Mirkin and Lei Jiang are honored for their contributions to the field of nanoscience and technology

Heidelberg | Beijing, 5 July 2018

Journal cover: Nano ResearchThe annual Nano Research Award, which is sponsored by Tsinghua University Press (TUP) and Springer Nature, was presented to two outstanding scientists on 1 July 2018 in Chengdu, China. Lei Jiang is professor at the Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Chad Mirkin is the George B. Rathmann professor of chemistry at Northwestern University. Both winners gave keynote talks at the 2018 Sino-US Nano Forum, where they officially received the award. 

Lei Jiang works on developing intelligent materials and devices including those which exhibit special properties such as wettability – the degree to which a solid is wetted by a liquid. He is a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the recipient of many honors and awards. 

Chad Mirkin’s research focuses on controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the nanometer scale. In particular, he developed a method known as dip-pen nanolithography which allows scientists to create patterns on a surface at a scale of under 100 nanometers. He was recently elected a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and has won numerous other awards.

Nano Research is an international academic journal sponsored by Tsinghua University and the Chinese Chemical Society, and is jointly published by Tsinghua University Press (TUP) and Springer Nature. Its 2017 impact factor calculated by Clarivate Analytics is 7.994. 

The Nano Research Award, which was established by the journal Nano Research together with TUP and Springer, is given to individual scientists who have contributed significantly to nanoscience research. The winner is selected by an award committee made up of the editors-in-chief, associate editors, representatives from TUP and Springer Nature. Past awardees include Charles M. Lieber of Harvard University, Paul Alivisatos and Peidong Yang both of University of California, Berkeley, and Yi Xie of the University of Science and Technology of China.  

Further Information

About the journal Nano Research


Springer is a leading global scientific, technical and medical portfolio, providing researchers in academia, scientific institutions and corporate R&D departments with quality content through innovative information, products and services. Springer has one of the strongest STM and HSS eBook collections and archives, as well as a comprehensive range of hybrid and open access journals. Springer is part of Springer Nature, a global publisher that serves and supports the research community. Springer Nature aims to advance discovery by publishing robust and insightful science, supporting the development of new areas of research and making ideas and knowledge accessible around the world. As part of Springer Nature, Springer sits alongside other trusted brands like Nature Research, BMC and Palgrave Macmillan. Visit and follow @SpringerNature.


Elizabeth Hawkins | Springer Nature | Communications
tel +49 6221 487 8130 |