2021 Gordon E. Pike Prize for the Paper of the Year

Journal of Materials Research is pleased to announce the winner of the 2021 Gordon E. Pike Prize for the JMR Paper of the Year!

Congratulations to 

Andrea Roberto Calore, Varune Srinivas, Shivesh Anand, Ane Albillos-Sanchez, Carlos Mota, Katrien Bernaerts, Jules A.W. Harings, Lorenzo Moroni (Maastricht University) and Stan F.S.P. Looijmans, Lambert C.A. van Breemen (Eindhoven University of Technology) for

“Shaping and properties of thermoplastic scaffolds in tissue regeneration: The effect of thermal history on polymer crystallization, surface characteristics and cell fate”

Published October 21, 2021 - JMR volume 36, issue 19 – Focus Issue: 3D Printing of Biomedical Materials and Devices

Click here to watch Editor-in-Chief Gary Messing discuss the winner work with the corresponding authors.


Previous JMR Papers of the Year

First report on entire sets of experimentally determined interdiffusion coefficients in quaternary and quinary high-entropy alloys

by Vivek Verma, Aparna Tripathi, Thiruvenkatam Venkateswaran, Kaustubh N. Kulkarni

JMR volume 35, issue 2


High-performance coaxial wire-shaped supercapacitors using ionogel electrolyte toward sustainable energy system

by Yongchao Liu, Mugilan Narayanasamy, Cheng Yang, Minjie Shi, Wei Xie, Hanzhao Wu, Chao Yan, Hua Hou, Zhanhu Guo

JMR volume 34, issue 17 – Focus Issue: Building Advanced Materials via Particle Aggregation and Molecular Self-Assembly


Additive Manufacturing and size-dependent mechanical properties of three-dimensional microarchitected, high-temperature ceramic metamaterials

Huachen Cui, Ryan Hensleigh, Hongshun Chen, Xiaoyu Zheng

JMR volume 33, issue 3 – Focus Issue: Architected Materials


Phase transitions in stable nanocrystalline alloys

by Arvind R. Kalidindi, Christopher A. Schuh

JMR volume 32, issue 11


Mapping viscoelastic and plastic properties of polymers and polymer-nanotube composites using instrumented indentation

by Andrew J. Gayle, Robert F. Cook

JMR volume 31, issue 15


In situ transmission electron microscopy and spectroscopy studies of rechargeable batteries under dynamic operating conditions: A retrospective and perspective view

by Chong-Min Wang

JMR volume 30, issue 3 – Focus Issue: In-situ and Operando Characterization of Materials


Thermophysical properties of SnO2-based transparent conductive films: Effect of dopant species and structure compared with In2O3-, ZnO-, and TiO2-based films

by Nobuto Oka, Saori Yamada, Takashi Yagi, Naoyuki Taketoshi, Junjun Jia, Yuzo Shigesato

JMR volume 29, issue 15


The Gordon E. Pike Prize for the JMR Paper of the Year recognizes excellence in advancing materials knowledge through written scholarship. It is intended to honor the outstanding paper published in JMR in a specific volume year.

The annual prize consists of a $1000 honorarium, awarded to the corresponding author of the JMR Paper of the Year.

Rules and Eligibility
Original research published in JMR in the award year (the prior volume year) can be nominated for The Gordon E. Pike Prize for the JMR Paper of the Year. Consideration is not limited by topic or format/length. The recipient must be listed as a coauthor on the published paper.

A nominee need not be a member of the Materials Research Society. Note: Papers published by current members of the JMR Editorial Board, JMR Advisory Board, current members of the MRS Board of Directors, and recipients of the JMR Paper of the Year within the past 10 years are not eligible.

A panel comprised of the JMR Editor-in-Chief and Associate Editors will select the annual recipient of The Gordon E. Pike Prize for the JMR Paper of the Year. The decision of the JMR leadership is final. The Prize honors all authors of the winning paper.  It is presented to the corresponding author at the annual MRS Spring Meeting. 

Nomination Package Requirements

The following is required for nomination for the award:

Completed Nomination Form. The nomination should include the name of the nominator(s), JMR issue date, paper title and authors, and a couple of sentences identifying the nominator.

Proposed citation (<40 words). Summarize the advances in materials research upon which the nomination is based, avoiding flowery descriptors.

A statement, 250 words or less, by the nominator specifically addressing how the paper advances and impacts the field of materials science.

Self-nominations are not permitted.

Submission Procedure and Deadline 

All materials comprising a nomination package should be sent as a single file document, preferably in PDF format. Incomplete and late nominations will not be accepted. It is the responsibility of the nominators to ensure legibility of the PDF or Word document. Please send the file by the third Wednesday in January via email to jmr@mrs.org.  

The Materials Research Society is grateful to Steven C. Moss for his generous endowment of The Gordon E. Pike Prize for the JMR Paper of the Year.  For more information on contributing to the JMR prize endowment, click here.