Reinhard Rieger Award in Zoomorphology

Reinhard Rieger Award in Zoomorphology

The Reinhard Rieger Award is given in memory of the zoologist Reinhard Rieger (1943 – 2006). The prize is awarded annually for outstanding research in the field of zoomorphology.

The award will recognize an outstanding article from the entire spectrum of functional and evolutionary morphology in the animal kingdom. It is sponsored by the publisher SpringerNature, the Institute of Zoology at the University of Innsbruck and Dr Roland Rieger, consisting of a grant of €2000.

The selection committee includes the Editorial Board members of the journal, selected articles are reviewed by outside reviewers.


Ekin Tilic

For the paper:

Comparative ultrastructure of the radiolar crown in Sabellida (Annelida)ZOOMORPHOLOGY 140: 27–45 (2021)

And Sebastian Büsse

For the paper:

Functional morphology of the raptorial forelegs in Mantispa styriaca (Insecta: Neuroptera). ZOOMORPHOLOGY 140: 231-241 (2021)


Alexander Kieneke

For the paper:

Ultrastructure of the epidermal gland system of Tetranchyroderma suecicum Boaden, 1960 (Gastrotricha: Macrodasyida) indicates a defensive function of its exudate. ZOOMORPHOLOGY 138: 443-462 (2020) 

See also:




The Reinhard Rieger-Award is given in memory of the zoologist Reinhard Rieger (1943 - 2006) and his scientific work in the field of zoomorphology of mainly invertebrate animals.


The purpose of the Reinhard Rieger-Award is to recognize an outstanding research article from the entire spectrum of functional and evolutionary morphology in the animal kingdom published in one of the last four issues in the journal Zoomorphology.


Preference will be given to studies that are convincing in their potential to elucidate changes in morphologies and functions in the broader ecomorphological and evolutionary framework. Combination of methods and concise discussion of the theoretical implications are important criteria for the evaluation. The dedication of the award makes no prescriptions about age of the awardee(s) or its/their status of seniority.


The Reinhard Rieger-Award consists of a certificate and a grant of €2000 for personal use for the winning author(s). The sponsors of the award are the publisher SpringerNature, the Institute of Zoology at the University of Innsbruck and Dr Roland Rieger.


The prize will be awarded annually.


Selection process. To initiate the selection process, Editorial Board members of Zoomorphology nominate up to three manuscripts published in Zoomorphology over the time period of one year (July to June). A selection committee consisting of the Editor in Chief and two or three Editorial Board members choose an international reviewing panel, which will then evaluate and rank these manuscripts. The reviewing panel consists of at least four international experts from the field of Zoomorphology. The selection committee will decide based on majority votes of the reviewers.


Corresponding authors of the prize-winning article will be informed by the selection committee immediately after the decision has been made.


In addition, the award should be presented at an international conference for Morphology within six months after selection of the prize-winning article, if such a conference takes place.


Changes of or additions to this constitution can only be made in agreement between the editors of Zoomorphology.