Journal updates

  • Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics now welcomes a new article type: ‘Special Topics’

    We are pleased to announce that Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics is now accepting submissions for a new article type called ‘Special Topics’.  A Special Topics article is a brief review article that focuses on a specific topic. Its purpose is to highlight emerging research subjects, recent advances in a specific area and/or new research techniques. It can also focus on the authors’ own work or experimental instruments. As such, we especially encourage early career physicists to submit Special Topics articles. We believe this extended scope will add value to Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics.

  • COVID-19 and impact on peer review

    As a result of the significant disruption that is being caused by the COVID-19 pandemic we are very aware that many researchers will have difficulty in meeting the timelines associated with our peer review process during normal times.  Please do let us know if you need additional time. Our systems will continue to remind you of the original timelines but we intend to be highly flexible at this time.

  • Topical Collection: Recent Progress in Physics of Plasma-Based Space Propulsion

    Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics will publish a topical collection on Physics of Plasma-Based Space Propulsion. This Topical Collection will outline recent progress in understanding, characterization, optimization, and modelling of plasma behaviour in space propulsion systems of various types.

    The guest editors are Prof. Igor Levchenko and Prof. Kateryna Bazaka.

  • Meet the Editors

    The Chairman of the Journal will coordinate this journal's activities. 

    As this journal covers all field of plasma physics categorized into seven branches (fundamental, basic, applied, laser, space, solar/astro, magnetic fusion), one chief editor and associate editors are responsible for the publication of papers in each branch.

  • Review articles by S. Chandrasekhar Prize Laureates

    The S. Chandrasekhar Laureates are sincerely invited to publish their review articles by the editorial board of Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics. They will describe their special works significantly contributed to the field as well as overviews the background and development of the research fields in the review articles. 

    The S. Chandrasekhar Prize recognizes scientists who have made seminal, pioneering contributions in the field of plasma physics, and has been awarded annually since 2014 by the Division of Plasma Physics under the Association of Asia Pacific Physics Societies.