Virtual Conference: 'Mathematics at the Intersection of Art, Culture, and History: In Celebration of The Mathematical Intelligencer and Marjorie Senechal'

Date and Time: Saturday, February 27th, 10 AM EST/4PM CET

Springer Nature is proud to present this virtual conference to celebrate the legacy of The Mathematical Intelligencer and Marjorie Senechal’s tenure as the Magazine’s Editor-in-Chief.

New Content Item
Marjorie Senechal (Smith College, US)

Organizers and Hosts: Karen Parshall (University of Virginia, US)
Sergei Tabachnikov (Penn State University, US)
 

Speakers:
Colin Adams (Williams College, US) and Andrea Young (Ripon College, US)
Title: “On Another Plane”

Seth Cottrell (New York City College of Technology, US)
Title: “Burning Man's Mathematical Underbelly”

Joseph W. Dauben (Lehman College, US)
Title: “Marjorie, the Met, and Managing the Intelligencer

Nikolai Dolbilin (Steklov Mathematical Institute of RAS, Russia)
Title: Crystallography and Delaunay’s Work”

John Ewing (President, Math for America, US)
Title: “As the World Grew Smaller—The Early Vision for The Mathematical Intelligencer”

Lisa Goldberg (UC Berkeley, US)
Title: “Hot Hands: What Data Science Can (and Can't) Tell Us About Basketball Trends”

Philip Ording (Sarah Lawrence College, US)
Title: “A Memo on Multiplicity”

Osmo Pekonen (U. Jyväskylä, Finland)
Title: “Bridging Art and Mathematics: Some Case Studies in STEAM Spirit”

Siobhan Roberts
Title: “Looking Everywhere and Looking Deeply”

Doris Schattschneider (Agnes Scott College, US)
Title: “Forty Years of Symmetry and Tiling with Marjorie”

Jean Taylor (UC Berkeley, US)
Title: “Words with Marjorie”

Daniel J. Velleman (Amherst College, US)
Title: “The Fundamental Theorem of Algebra: Past, Present, and Pictures.”

Attendance is Free and Open to Everyone

ZOOM Link and Full Invitation Below
Please Be Sure to Copy and Paste This Into Your Calendar.

Mathematics at the Intersection of Art, Culture, and History: In Celebration of The Mathematical Intelligencer and Marjorie Senechal
Saturday, February 27th, 10AM EST/7AM PST/3PM BST/4PM CET

https://springer.zoom.us/j/6440052748
Meeting ID: 644 005 2748
One tap mobile: +16465588656,,6440052748# US (New York) +13017158592,,6440052748# US (Washington D.C)
Dial by your location +1 646 558 8656 US (New York) +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington D.C) +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago) +1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose) +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma) +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston) Meeting ID: 644 005 2748 Find your local number:
https://springer.zoom.us/u/ad7QhwmaxE