AHP Prizes and Distinguished Papers

Each year a prize founded by Birkhäuser is awarded for the most remarkable paper published in the journal Annales Henri Poincaré. The winners of the AHP prize are selected by the Editorial Board. Since 2008, the AHP executive board decided to award also distinguished papers. All papers are freely accessible online for one year!

The AHP Prize 2019 was awarded to: 

Mischa P. Woods, Ralph Silva, and Jonathan Oppenheim 

for their paper:

Autonomous Quantum Machines and Finite-Sized Clocks

In Quantum Information Science, devices performing various tasks are typically not autonomous. In the ideal case, unitary operators realizing quantum computing, quantum simulation, ... are applied for a certain time by an external supervisor using a classical clock. As Woods et al. say: “A fully quantum mechanical description of such a device would include a quantum description of the clock, whose state is generally disturbed because of the back-reaction on it. Such a description is needed if we wish to consider finite sized autonomous quantum machines requiring no external control.” 

For an autonomous quantum machine of modest size and energy, Woods et al. consider two important limitations of finite clocks: 

  • they can only record the precise time at discrete intervals, and can be very inaccurate in between; 
  • any attempt to use the clock disturbs it, and therefore degrades its future performance.

The Authors were able to circumvent these two difficulties. They propose a new model for finite sized clocks, and demonstrate the clock’s utility. To this aim they describe how to convert the two most ubiquitous externally controlled operations in quantum theory: the unitary, and the time-dependent interaction Hamiltonian, into an operation performed by an autonomous device. They compute the back-reaction on the clock, and find analytic bounds on the errors developed in the clock and target system. The main result is that the disturbance in the clock can be made exponentially small in the dimension of the clock.
These results are obtained rigorously within a theory that assumes a concrete quantum mechanical model of clock, based on original ideas of Eugene Paul Wigner and Asher Peres.

The article is freely accessible until April 16, 2022!

Previous AHP Prize winners:


Marius Junge, Renato Renner, David Sutter, Mark M. Wilde, and Andreas Winter

Universal Recovery Maps and Approximate Sufficiency of Quantum Relative Entropy


Johannes Bausch, Toby Cubitt, and Maris Ozols
The Complexity of Translationally Invariant Spin Chains with Low Local Dimension


Sven Bachmann, Wojciech Dybalski and Pieter Naaijkens 

Lieb-Robinson Bounds, Arveson Spectrum and Haag-Ruelle Scattering Theory for Gapped Quantum Spin Systems


Ira Herbst and Juliane Rama

Instability of Pre-Existing Resonances Under a Small Constant Electric Field


David Damanik, Jake Fillman and Anton Gorodetski

Continuum Schrödinger Operators Associated With Aperiodic Subshifts


Dean Baskin

Strichartz Estimates on Asymptotically de Sitter Spaces


Semyon Dyatlov

Asymptotic Distribution of Quasi-Normal Modes for Kerr–de Sitter Black Holes


László Erdős and Antti Knowles

Quantum Diffusion and Delocalization for Band Matrices with General Distribution


J.-M. Barbaroux, T. Chen, V. Vougalter and S. Vugalter

Quantitative Estimates on the Binding Energy for Hydrogen in Non-Relativistic QED


D. Dolgopyat and B. Fayad

Unbounded Orbits for Semicircular Outer Billiard


P. Bálint and I. P. Tóth

Exponential Decay of Correlations in Multi-Dimensional Dispersing Billiards


Fabien Vignes-Tourneret

Renormalization of the Orientable Non-commutative Gross–Neveu Model


Giuseppe Benfatto, Alessandro Giuliani and Vieri Mastropietro

Fermi Liquid Behavior in the 2D Hubbard Model at Low Temperatures


Alexander V. Sobolev

Integrated Density of States for the Periodic Schrödinger Operator in Dimension Two


Nandor Simanyi

Proof of the Ergodic Hypothesis for Typical Hard Ball Systems


Alessandro Pizzo

One-particle (improper) States in Nelson’s Massless Model


Lorenzo Bertini, Stella Brassesco, Paolo Buttà, and Errico Presutti

Stochastic Phase Field Equations: Existence and Uniqueness


Galina Perelman

On the Formation of Singularities in Solutions of the Critical Nonlinear Schrödinger Equation


Michael T. Anderson and to Gueorgui Popov

On the Structure of Solutions to the Static Vacuum Einstein Equations , Invariant Tori, Effective Stability, and Quasimodes with Exponentially Small Error Terms