Editors

Editor-in-Chief
Ulrich Sommer
Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
GEOMAR
24105 Kiel, Germany
e-mail: marinebiology@geomar.de

Managing Editor
Barbara Santer
Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
GEOMAR
24105 Kiel, Germany
e-mail: marinebiology@geomar.de

Reviews Editor
Sandra E. Shumway
Department of Marine Sciences
University of Connecticut
Groton, CT, USA
e-mail: sandra.shumway@uconn.edu

Please contact the Reviews Editor before submitting a review manuscript.

Associate Editors
Nicole Aberle-Malzahn
Department of Biology
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
Trondheim, Norway
e-mail: nicole.aberle-malzahn@ntnu.no
Phytoplankton-zooplankton interactions: Lower food web dynamics, trophic ecology (stable isotopes), food quality, proto-/microzooplankton, climate change impacts

Angus Atkinson
Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Plymouth, UK
e-mail: aat@pml.ac.uk
Zooplankton and micronekton: Phenology, biogeochemical function, food webs, feeding, Southern Ocean 

Larisa Avens
NOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service
Beaufort, NC, USA
e-mail:  larisa.avens@noaa.gov
Marine megafauna (marine turtles): life history (age, growth, life stage durations), navigation, population surveys, telemetry, trophic ecology (stable isotopes)

Rong Bi
Key Laboratory of Marine Chemistry Theory and Technology, MOE,
Ocean University of China
Qingdao, China
e-mail: rongbi@ouc.edu.cn
Chemical composition of phytoplankton: elemental stoichiometry, fatty acids, sterols, alkenones, food webs, carbon cycle, global change, marine ecology, biogeochemistry

Kai Bischof
Department of Marine Botany
University of Bremen
Bremen, Germany
e-mail: kbischof@uni-bremen.de
Benthic primary producers: Ecophysiology, photosynthesis, seaweeds

Elizabeta Briski
GEOMAR, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research
Kiel, Germany
e-mail: ebriski@geomar.de
Invasive Species: Ecology, physiology, genetics, environmental impact, management strategies

Fabio Bulleri
Department of Biology
University of Pisa
Pisa, Italy
e-mail: fabio.bulleri@unipi.it
Rocky shore communities: Ecology, biological invasions, human impacts, herbivore-plant interactions

Maria Byrne
Schools of Medical and Biological Science
University of Sydney
Sydney, NSW, Australia
e-mail: mbyrne@anatomy.usyd.edu.au
Echinoderms: Reproduction, development, impact of global change

Cieman Caballes
James Cook University
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
e-mail: ciemon.caballes@jcu.edu.au
Coral reefs: predator-prey interactions, disturbance, crown-of-thorns starfish, chemical ecology, conservation, restoration, management

John K. Carlson
NOAA Fisheries Service
Southeast Fisheries Science Center
Panama City, FL, USA
e-mail: john.carlson@noaa.gov
Elasmobranchs:  Life history, movements, population dynamics, ecophysiology

Paolo Casale
University of Pisa
Pisa, Italy
e-mail: paolo.casale1@gmail.com
Marine turtles: ecology, distribution and movements, life history, population dynamics and structure, conservation biology, interaction with fisheries

Gee Chapman
School of Biological Sciences
University of Sydney
Sydney, NSW, Australia
e-mail: gee.chapman@sydney.edu.au
Coastal intertidal systems: Urban environments, human impacts, restoration.
Experimental design

Antonio Checa
Department of Stratigraphy and Paleontology
University of Granada
Granada, Spain
e-mail: acheca@ugr.es
Molluscs: Constructional morphology, biomineralization, evolution

Tommy Clay
School of Environmental Sciences
University of Liverpool
Liverpool, UK
e-mail: tclay@liverpool.ac.uk
Seabirds: foraging ecology, movement ecology, migration, biologging, life history, conservation Biology

Kendall Clements
School of Biological Sciences
The University of Auckland
Auckland Central, New Zealand
e-mail: k.clements@auckland.ac.nz
Reef Fish: Speciation, phylogenetics, demography, evolutionary ecology.
Feeding, nutrition and digestion of herbivorous fishes

Sean D. Connell
Southern Seas Ecology Laboratories
University of Adelaide
South Australia, Australia
e-mail: sean.connell@adelaide.edu.au
Subtidal ecology: Biogeography, habitat, human influences, kelp

Daniel E. Crocker
Department of Biology
Sonoma State University
Rohnert Park, CA, USA
e-mail: crocker@sonoma.edu
Marine mammals: Forging ecology, reproduction, energetics, fasting, diving physiology, endocrinology, immune function, stress physiology

Ross N. Cuthbert
School of Biological Sciences
Queen’s University Belfast
Belfast, UK
GEOMAR, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research
Kiel, Germany
e-mail:  rcuthbert@geomar.de; r.cuthbert@qub.ac.uk
Invasion biology: ecological and socio-economic impacts, management strategies, global change, predator-prey interactions 

Christophe Eizaguirre
School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Queen Mary University of London
London, UK
e-mail: c.eizaguirre@qmul.ac.uk
Population genetics/genomics, host-parasite interactions, conservation biology, evolutionary ecology

Will Figueira
School of Life and Environmental Sciences
The University of Sydney
Sydney, Australia
e-mail: will.figueira@sydney.edu.au
Fish ecology, population ecology, metapopulations, impacts of climate change, coral reefs

Patrick Gagnon
Ocean Sciences Centre
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
e-mail: pgagnon@mun.ca
Rocky subtidal communities: Ecology, Structure and function, Herbivore-plant interactions, Environmental variability, Kelp, Rhodoliths

Deborah Gochfeld
National Center for Natural Products Research
University of Mississippi
University, MS, USA
e-mail: gochfeld@olemiss.edu
Coral reefs, corals and sponges: diseases, stress, chemical ecology, natural products

Andrea Gori
Departament de Biologia Evolutiva, Ecologia i Ciències Ambientals
Universitat de Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain
e-mail: gori@ub.edu
Temperate and Deep-Sea Corals: Diversity, Distribution, Reproductive and Trophic Biology, Ecophysiology, Conservation

Denis Goulet
Department of Biology
University of Mississippi
University, MS, USA
e-mail: dgoulet@olemiss.edu
Coral reef fish: Behavior, reproduction

Judith P. Grassle
Biology Department
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Woods Hole, MA, USA
e-mail: jgrassle@marine.rutgers.edu
Benthic communities: Invertebrate larvae, population genetics

Scott Hamilton
Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
San Jose State University
Moss Landing, CA, USA
e-mail: shamilton@mlml.calstate.edu
Fish: Demographic and life history variation, biogeography, species interactions, trophic ecology, climate change, ecophysiology, marine protected areas, fisheries

Saki Harii
Tropical Biosphere Research Center
University of the Ryukyus
Okinawa, Japan
e-mail: sharii@lab.u-ryukyu.ac.jp
Coral reefs: scleractinian corals, sexual reproduction, larval biology, symbiosis, impact of ocean warming

Chris Harrod
Instituto de Ciencias Naturales Alexander von Humboldt
Universidad de Antofagasta
Antofagasta, Chile
e-mail: chris@harrodlab.net
Fish: Trophic interaction, stable isotopes as trophic markers, invasive species, impact of climate change

Jonathan Houghton
Queen's University Belfast
Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
e-mail: j.houghton@qub.ac.uk
Marine vertebrates: Biotelemetry and data loggers, foraging, migratory behavior.
Gelatinous Zooplankton

Henk-Jan Hoving
GEOMAR, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research
Kiel, Germany
e-mail: hhoving@geomar.de
Deep-Sea Organisms: Life history strategies, behavior, biodiversity, food webs, biological carbon pump

Markus Huettel
Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Science
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL, USA
e-mail: mhuettel@fsu.edu
Coastal benthic systems: Biogeochemistry, oxygen dynamics

Ewan Hunter
Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Lowestoft, UK
e-mail: ewan.hunter@cefas.co.uk
Fish and shellfish: Life history, predator-prey interactions, biotelemetry, population dynamics, otolith science

Xabier Irigoien
AZTI
Herrera Kaia portualdea z/g
20110 Pasaia, Gipuzkoa, Spain
e-mail: xirigoien@azti.es
Plankton: Copepods, trophic webs, biodiversity

Patrik Kraufvelin
Department of Aquatic Resources
Institute of Coastal Research
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Öregrund, Sweden
e-mail: pkraufve@abo.fi, patrik.kraufvelin@slu.se
Benthic systems: Rocky shores, environmental impact, biodiversity, ecosystem functioning, experimental design

Ezequiel Marzinelli 
School of Life and Environmental Sciences                              
University of Sydney, Sydney,  NSW, Australia
e-mail: e.marzinelli@sydney.edu.au
Microbial ecology, macrophytes (kelp, seagrass): host-microbiome interactions, human impacts, urban ecology, restoration

Cédric Meunier
Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung
Biologische Anstalt Helgoland
Helgoland, Germany
e-mail: Cedric.Meunier@awi.de
Food webs: plankton ecology, global change, ecological stoichiometry, trait-based ecology

S. Wajih A. Naqvi
National Institute of Oceanography
Goa, India
e-mail: naqvi@nio.org
Biogeochemistry; Hypoxia; Greenhouse gases

David K. Ngugi
Leibniz Institute DSMZ
Department of Microorganisms
Braunschweig, Germany
e-mail: david.ngugi@dsmz.de
Marine microbial ecology, environmental genomics, biogeochemistry, nitrogen cycles, herbivore-microbe interactions, archaea-virus interactions

Vitor H. Paiva
MARE - Marine and Environmental Sciences Centre
Department of Life Sciences
University of Coimbra
Coimbra, Portugal
e-mail: vitorpaiva@ci.uc.pt
Seabirds: Spatial and trophic ecology, ecosystem modelling, bio-logging, human-related stressors, climate change

Christian Pansch-Hattich
Åbo Akademi University
Åbo/Turku, Finland
e-mail: ch.pansch@gmail.com;  christian@pansch-research.com;
Benthic systems: ecophysiology, experimental design, ecosystem functioning, tolerance and adaptation to multiple climate change drivers, life history of benthic invertebrates, macrophyte meadows and rocky shores

Myron Peck
Institute for Hydrobiology and Fisheries Science
Hamburg University
Hamburg, Germany
e-mail: myron.peck@uni-hamburg.de
Fish and Zooplankton:  Ecophysiology, food web dynamics, biophysical modelling

Hans-Otto Pörtner
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research
Bremerhaven, Germany
e-mail: Hans.Poertner@awi.de
Invertebrates and Fishes: Ecophysiology, tolerance and adaptation to warming, acidification and hypoxia

Oscar Puebla
Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT)
Bremen, Germany
e-mail: oscar.puebla@leibniz-zmt.de
Marine population genetics/genomics: Speciation, dispersal, adaptive radiation, sexual selection, evolutionary ecology, gene flow, coral reef fishes

Joost Raeymaekers
Faculty of Biosciences and Aquaculture
Nord University
Bodø, Norway
e-mail: joost.raeymaekers@nord.no
Evolutionary ecology, population genetics/genomics, land/seascape genetics, evolutionary applications

Patricia A. Ramey-Balci
Biological Sciences
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
e-mail: rameybalci@gmail.com; Patricia.Ramey-Balci@umanitoba.ca
Benthic communities: macrofauna, diversity, life history, population dynamics, experimental design, anthropogenic Impacts

Thorsten Reusch
GEOMAR, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research
Kiel, Germany
e-mail: treusch@geomar.de
Evolutionary biology:  Adaptation to global change, population genetics, phylogeography, host-pathogen interactions and co-evolution, seagrass

Marc Rius
Ocean & Earth Science
National Oceanography Centre
University of Southampton
Southampton, UK
e-mail: M.Rius@soton.ac.uk
Invasion genetics / genomics, community ecology, biogeography, evolutionary ecology

Michael Y. Roleda
Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO)
Bodø, Norway
e-mail: michael.roleda@nibio.no
Marine Botany: carbon physiology, ecology, life history, phenology, photobiology, reproductive biology, stress physiology

Sandra E. Shumway
Department of Marine Sciences
University of Connecticut
Groton, CT, USA
e-mail: sandra.shumway@uconn.edu
Invertebrates: Environmental physiology, molluscs, filter-feeding, harmful algal blooms, biofouling

Ursula Siebert
Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife Research (ITAW)
University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Foundation
Buesum and Hannover, Germany
e-mail: ursula.siebert@tiho-hannover.de
Marine mammals: Health assessment, anthropogenic impacts

Brent S. Stewart
Hubbs - Sea World Research Institute
San Diego, CA, USA
e-mail: bstewart@hswri.org
Marine megafauna: foraging ecology, wildlife health, biogeography, diving behavior, population ecology

Martin Thiel
Facultad Ciencias del Mar
Universidad Catolica del Norte
Coquimbo, Chile
e-mail: thiel@ucn.cl
Benthic invertebrates: biogeography, life history, behavioral ecology

Anne E. Todgham
Department of Animal Science
University of California Davis
Davis, CA, USA
e-mail: todgham@ucdavis.edu
Fishes and Invertebrates: Ecophysiology, responses to multiple stressors, impact of climate change

Sven Uthicke
Australian Institute of Marine Science
Townsville QLD, Australia
e-mail: s.uthicke@aims.gov.au
Population genetics, climate change impacts on Echinoderms and Foraminifera

Olav Vadstein
Department of Biotechnology and Food Science
NTNU Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Trondheim, Norway
e-mail: olav.vadstein@ntnu.no
Microbial ecology: Plankton, microbial loop, food web interactions, trophic cascades, host-microbe interactions

Roger Villanueva
Institut de Ciencies del Mar (CSIC)
Barcelona, Spain
e-mail: roger@icm.csic.es
Cephalopods: early life stages, nutrition, development, reproduction

Christian R. Voolstra
Department of Biology
University of Konstanz
Konstanz, Germany
e-mail: christian.voolstra@uni-konstanz.de
Coral reefs: Molecular ecology, genomics, evolution, adaptation, climate change, marine conservation

Christian Wild
Department of Marine Ecology
University of Bremen
Bremen, Germany
e-mail: cwild@uni-bremen.de
Coastal benthic ecosystems: coral reefs, seagrass meadows, phytal habitats, rocky shores, ecosystem engineers, ecophysiology, microbial ecology, biogeochemistry

Kedong Yin
School of Marine Biology
Sun Yat-Sen University
Guangzhou, China
e-mail: yinkd@mail.sysu.edu.cn
Phytoplankton: Ecophysiology, eutrophication, harmful algal blooms, hypoxia

Aibin Zhan
Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing, China
e-mail: zhanaibin@hotmail.com; azhan@rcees.ac.cn
Molecular and evolutionary ecology, molecular adaptation, gene expression and regulations, genetics/genomics, and epigenetics/epigenomics of invertebrates