Lawrence R. Klein Award

Empirical Economics Lawrence R. Klein Award for outstanding papers in the field of Empirical Economics

This biannual prize is awarded for the best paper published in the journal Empirical Economics. The Empirical Economics Springer prize was awarded for the first time by Springer in 2006, and was renamed in honor of the Nobel prize winner Lawrence R. Klein in 2013. For further information, please see the announcement on the right-hand side. The next Lawrence R. Klein Award will be awarded in 2018 for the best paper in 2016/2017.

Just Awarded:

2014/2015 Lawrence R. Klein Award

The 2014/2015 Lawrence R. Klein Award goes to Stefan Gerlach and John Lewis “Zero lower bound, ECB interest rate policy and the financial crisis”published in Empirical Economics, volume 46, issue 3, May 2014 (DOI: 10.1007/s00181-013-0713-6) and Mihály Tamás Borsi and Norbert Metiu “The evolution of economic convergence in the European Union” published in Empirical Economics, volume 48, issue 2, March 2015 (DOI: 10.1007/s00181-014-0801-2)


Former Awards: 

2012/2013 Lawrence R. Klein Award to

Wang-Sheng Lee, School of Accounting, Economics and Finance, Deakin University, Burwood, Australia for his paper“Propensity score matching and variations on the balancing test”published in Empirical Economics, volume 44, issue 1, DOI 10.1007/s00181-011-0481-0

Awarded Paper

2010/2011 Lawrence R. Klein Award to

Nattavudh Powdthavee, London School of Economics, United Kingdom for his paper “How Much does Money Really Matter? Estimating the Causal Effects of Income on Happiness”published in Empirical Economics, volume 39, issue 1, August 2010, DOI 10.1007/s00181-009-0295-5

Awarded Paper

2008/2009 Springer Award

Tomson Ogwang, Department of Economics, Brock University, Canada and Danny I. Cho, Faculty of Business, Brock University, Canada for their paper "Economic determinants of the consumption of alcoholic beverages in Canada: a panel data analysis”published in Empirical Economics, volume 37, issue 3, December 2009 DOI 10.1007/s00181-008-0248-4

Awarded Paper

2006/2007 Springer Award

Luc Anselin, School of Geographical Sciences, Arizona State University and Nancy Lozano-Gracia, Spatial Analysis Laboratory (SAL) and Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics, University of Illinois, Urbana for the best paper presented at the International Workshop on Spatial Econometrics and Statistics, May 25-27, 2006 in Rome 

"Errors in Variables and Spatial Effects in Hedonic House Price Models of Ambient Air Quality"; published in Empirical Economics, Special Issue on Spatial Econometrics, volume 34, issue 1, February 2008 DOI 10.1007/s00181-007-0152-3

Awarded Paper