CfP Special Issue: Education in Artificial Intelligence K-12

Special Issue Guest Editors:

Gerald Steinbauer, Martin Kandlhofer, Tara Chklovski, Fredrik Heintz, Sven Koenig


The upcoming special issue of the KI Magazin addresses the emerging topic of education in Artificial Intelligence (AI) at the K-12 level. In recent years, Artificial Intelligence (AI) has attracted a lot of attention from the public, and become a major topic of economic and societal discussion. AI already has a significant influence on various areas of life and across different sectors and fields. The speed and force with which AI is impacting our work and everyday life poses a tremendous challenge for our society and educational system. Teaching fundamental AI concepts and techniques has traditionally been done at the university level. However, in recent years several initiatives and projects pursuing the mission of K-12 AI education have emerged. In this context we also see education organizations and AI experts as well as governments developing and deploying AI-curricula and programs for a K-12 audience. The aim of this special issue is to provide a compact overview over this growing field. We invite contributions from researchers, practitioners, and educators interested in education in AI at K-12 level.


Contributions can be from the following categories (for more detailed information please refer to the author instructions for each of these categories):

Technical Contribution; System Descriptions; Project Reports; Dissertation and Habilitation Abstracts; AI Transfer; Discussion


If you are interested in submitting a paper please contact one of the guest editors:

Gerald Steinbauer, Graz University of Technology, Institute of Software Technology, Graz, Austria; (steinbauer@ist.tugraz.at)

Martin Kandlhofer, Austrian Computer Society, Vienna, Austria; (kandlhofer@ist.tugraz.at)

Tara Chklovski, Founder and CEO of Technovation USA; (tara@iridescentlearning.org)

Fredrik Heintz, Department of Computer Science, Linköping University, Sweden; (fredrik.heintz@liu.se)

Sven Koenig, Computer Science Department, University of Southern California, USA; (skoenig@usc.edu)


Handling Editor, Editorial Board:

Ubbo Visser

(University of Miami, USA)

visser@cs.miami.edu


Download CfP (PDF file)