Journal of Thermal Spray Technology Volume 27 Winners

The Journal of Thermal Spray Technology (JTST) is pleased to announce the winners of the JTST Volume 27 Best Paper Awards, as chosen by an international committee of expert judges. The awards were presented to the winning authors at the International Thermal Spray Conference and Exposition 2019, in Yokohama, Japan.

The Editorial Committee of the journal believes it is important to evaluate the quality of engineering and scientific contributions published in JTST and to provide recognition of excellent work and its publication. Each paper is reviewed and evaluated on its merits for scientific and engineering content, originality, and presentation style. The following papers are recognized as outstanding and the authors received awards of recognition for their excellent publications.


The Journal of Thermal Spray Technology Volume 27 Best Paper Award

“Evaluation of Heat Transfer Transport Coefficient for Cold Spray Through Computational Fluid Dynamics and Particle In-Flight Temperature Measurement Using a High-Speed IR Camera” by Ms. Aleksandra Nastic and Dr. Bertrand Jodoin, Cold Spray Research Laboratory, University of Ottawa.

Aleksandra Nastic                         Bertrand Jodoin
Aleksandra Nastic                         Bertrand Jodoin

The Journal of Thermal Spray Technology Volume 27 Best Paper Honorable Mention

“Novel Method of Aluminum to Copper Bonding by Cold Spray” by Mr. Si-Lin Fu, Dr. Cheng-Xin Li, Mr. Ying-Kang Wei, Dr. Xiao-Tao Luo, Prof. Guan-Jun Yang, and Prof. Chang-Jiu Li, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University; and Prof. Jing-Long Li, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern Polytechnical University.

The international committee of judges, led by Dr. Jiri Matejicek, chair of the Journal of Thermal Spray Technology Best Paper Subcommittee, is as follows: Andrew Siao Ang, Emine Bakan, Kirsten Bobzin, Jose Colmenares-Angulo, Frank Gaertner, Ashish Ganvir, Sarka Houdkova, Tanvir Hussain, Anup Keshri, Ondrej Kovarik, Anand Kulkarni, Chengxin Li, Jie Li, Rogerio Lima, Javad Mostaghimi, Radek Musalek, Kazuhiro Ogawa, KeeHyun Park, Shiladitya Paul, Pavel Rohan, James Ruud, Richard Schmid, Ramachandran Chidambaram Seshadri, Igor Sevostianov, Atin Sharma, Kentaro Shinoda, Karel Slamecka, Pawel Sokolowski, Mahder Tewolde, Richard Trache, Anirudha Vaidya, Alfredo Valarezo, Federico Venturi, Petri Vuoristo, Guan-Jun Yang, and Lei Zuo.

Congratulations are extended to the winning authors from the JTST Editorial Board and the ASM Thermal Spray Society Executive Board of Directors.