The Robert W. Cahn Prize

The Cahn Prize has been named in honor of the Journal’s founding editor, the late Professor Robert Wolfgang Cahn.

Each month the Editors select a paper published in that month’s issues via a rigorous nomination and voting procedure. The winning paper is selected from the twelve finalists by a separate panel of distinguished materials scientists. 

The authors of the winning paper receive an award of $5,000.

For more information, and to see the current finalists for 2020, click here!

The 2019 Cahn Prize

Editors with the 2019 Prize plaque

Pictured left to right: Editor-in-Chief C. Barry Carter, Deputy Editor-in-Chief M. Grant Norton, Publishing Editor Sara Kate Heukerott

The Winner of the 2019 Robert W. Cahn Prize for Journal of Materials Science is "Robust raspberry-like all-polymer particles for the construction of superhydrophobic surface with high water adhesive force" by Cheng Chen, Liping Zhang, Mingfei Sheng, Yu Guan, Hao Dong, and Shaohai Fu.

For 2019's Finalists and more information, click here!

Previous Cahn Prize Winners and Finalists

2018 Cahn Prize

2017 Cahn Prize

2016 Cahn Prize

2015 Cahn Prize

2014 Cahn Prize

2013 Cahn Prize

2012 Cahn Prize

The 2011 Sapphire Prize

The 2011 Sapphire Prize commemorated the Journal's 45th Anniversary, and was later adapted into the annual Cahn Prize. 

You can see the 2011 Sapphire Prize Finalists and winner here.