News, press releases and awards


Press release!

How health care facilities are staying clean during the COVID-19 pandemic
From chemical disinfects, to automated room systems using hydrogen peroxide vapor and ultraviolet light, researchers dig deeper into what works best
Published by Texas A&M Health, Vital Record on January 22, 2021

Environmental Chemistry Letters source article:
Classical and alternative disinfection strategies to control the COVID-19 virus in healthcare facilities: a review


Professor Virender K. Sharma – one of the Associate Editors of Environmental Chemistry Letters – will receive the 2020 Steven K. Dentel AEESP Award for Global Outreach. This prestigious award recognizes his outstanding contributions and leadership as a faculty member through involvement in environmental engineering and science outreach activities to the global community. Professor Virender K. Sharma is Professor at the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health at the School of Publish Health of Texas A&M University.

Read more about the award here: 
Steven K. Dentel / AEESP Award for Global Outreach

Biography: Professor Sharma is an environmental chemist and is serving as the Director of the Program for the Environment and Sustainability of the SPH. Professor Sharma has interest in advanced materials including bioinspired nanomaterials to develop water and wastewater treatment processes.  His research interest has been in environmental sustainability to achieve energy conversion and storage, energy, and resources recovery.  He has expanded his interest in monitoring of emerging contaminants and microorganisms to address public health issues.  He has made seminal contributions in the areas of chemistry and environmental applications of ferrates. Dr. Sharma has also made key contributions in elucidating stabilization and toxicity of natural nanoparticles in an aquatic environment, resulting in an impact on human and ecological health. He is also working on understanding mechanism of the formation of disinfection byproducts in water.  His latest research also includes studying environment fate of environmentally persistent free radicals and antibiotics resistant bacteria and genes.  He has published more than 340 peer-reviewed publications. Dr. Sharma has also published 55 book chapters, 36 proceedings, and authored/edited 8 books. His other distinguished awards include Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Bush Excellence Award for International Research, Faculty Excellence in Research by Florida Tech, Outstanding Chemist by the American Chemical Society (Orlando Section), Outstanding Distinguished Scientist Award by Sigma Xi (Texas A&M University Chapter), International Fellowship awarded by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Invited Professorship by University of Paris, France.

Interesting read from the Texas Water Resources Institute: Meet a scientist: Virender Sharma

Professor Rattan Lal, Director of the Carbon Management and Sequestration Center at the Ohio State University, has been awarded the 2020 World Food Prize (watch the Ceremony). He is co-author of the article Higher CO2 absorption using a new class of calcium hydroxide (Ca(OH)2) nanoparticles (DOI: 10.1007/s10311-018-0729-4)

Dr. Lionel Ranjard, Research Director at the INRAE, Dijon, has been awarded the 2020 Prize for Scientific Innovation by the French Agricultural Academy. He is co-author of 8 articles in the book series Environmental Chemistry Letters, e.g. Biodiversity of urban soils for sustainable cities (DOI: 10.1007/s10311-018-0751-6), Microbial diversity and ecological networks as indicators of environmental quality (DOI: 10.1007/s10311-017-0614-6), and Molecular microbiology methods for environmental diagnosis (DOI: 10.1007/s10311-016-0581-3).