Springer Nature Webinars

SpringerNew Content Item Nature Webinars are a series of live, online conferences on academic publishing that are specially designed for the Latin America and the Caribbean research community. Each webinar will feature a topic of interest for researchers and graduate students, ranging from peer review and publishing ethics to alternative article metrics and open science. The webinars will be presented by experts from each field, either from within Springer Nature or from relevant research institutions across the world.

All webinars are open to everyone, take approximately 1h, and are followed by a 30-min Q&A session. All presentations will be recorded and available online. Check out the program for 2017 and get registered!

All presentations from 2016 are now available online

2017 Program

line

How Nature Journals Work

Philip Campbell

Editor-in-Chief | Nature

March 21st
1 pm (Brasilia), 11 am (Bogota), 10 am (Mexico City)

Watch the record

DATA:

Visibilidade Internacional em Ciências Humanas e Sociais

Silvia Koller

Professor at UFRGS | Visiting Professor at Harvard University

April 26th
4 pm (Brasilia), 2 pm (Bogota), 2 pm (Mexico City)

Watch the record

DATA:

Mudando concepções de originalidade em publicação científica - questões para autores 

Sonia Vasconcelos

Professor | Federal University of Rio de Janeiro

May 16th
3 pm (Brasilia), 1 pm (Bogota), 1 pm (Mexico City)

Watch the record

DATA:

How to review a manuscript

Maria Kowalczuk

Research Integrity Group | BioMed Central

June 13th
11 am (Brasilia), 9 am (Bogota), 9 am (Mexico City)

English without translation

Due to technical issues, the recorded presentation is not available. We are sorry about that.

DATA:

How effective writing can boost the chances of getting your scientific article published

Valtencir Zucolotto

Professor | University of São Paulo (São Carlos)

August 23rd
3 pm (Brasilia), 1 pm (Bogota), 1 pm (Mexico City) 

Watch the record

DATA:

Who is afraid of data sharing?

Emilio Bruna

Professor | University of Florida

IMPORTANT NOTE: due to Irma hurricane in Florida, this webinar has been postponed to October 26th (please, see below)

DATA:

Who is afraid of data sharing?

Emilio Bruna

Professor | University of Florida

October 26th

4 pm (Brasilia), 1 pm (Bogota), 1 pm (Mexico City)

English without translation

Watch the record

line

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Introduction to altmetrics and Altmetric

Andréa Gonçalves do Nascimento

Professor | Unirio and UFF | Altmetric Ambassador

December 1st

3 pm (Brasilia), 12 pm (Bogota), 11 am (Mexico City)

Portuguese without translation

Watch the record