Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Computer Science | Peter Chen Award 2013

14 June 2013

Peter Chen Award 2013

Congratulations, Carlo Batini ! 

Since 2008 the Peter P. Chen Award honors one person each year for his or her outstanding contributions to the field of conceptual modeling. The winner receives a plaque and check for US $1000 from the ER Institute. The winner is announced and presented each year at the ER conference.

Prof. Carlo Batini  

Criteria for the Award 

• Research: how well the nominee has helped advance the field of conceptual modeling with his/her intellectual contributions.
• Service: participation in the organization of conceptual-modeling-related meetings and conferences and participation in editorial boards of conceptual-modeling-related journals.
• Education: how effectively the nominee has mentored doctoral students in conceptual modeling, produced researchers from their labs, and also helped mentor young people in the field.
• Contribution to practice: the extent to which the nominee has contributed to technology transfer, commercialization, and industrial projects.
• International reputation: the extent to which the nominee's work is visible to and has diffused into the international community.
The 2013 award committee members were Stephano Spaccapietra (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland); Tok Wang Ling (National University of Singapore), Lois Delcambre (Portland State University, USA), Umesh Dayal (HP Labs, USA), and Antoni Olivé (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya).

Previous Peter Chen Award Winners Publishing with Springer 

2012: Prof. Stefano Scarpietra, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland
2011: Prof. Tok Wang Ling, National University of Singapore
2010: Prof. John Mylopoulos, University of Trento, Italy
2009: Prof. David W. Embley, Brigham Young University, USA
2008: Prof. Bernhard Thalheim, University of Kiel, Germany