Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Business & Management - Operations Research & Decision Theory | SN Operations Research Forum (Editorial Board)

SN Operations Research Forum

SN Operations Research Forum

Editors-in-Chief: M. Lübbecke; P.M. Pardalos

ISSN: 2662-2556 (electronic version)

Journal no. 43069

Editors-in-Chief:

Marco Lübbecke
RWTH Aachen University
Chair of Operations Research
52072 Aachen Germany
marco.luebbecke@rwth-aachen.de

Panos M. Pardalos
University of Florida
Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Gainesville, FL 32611 USA
pardalos@ise.ufl.edu

Managing Editor:

Ilias S. Kotsireas
Wilfrid Laurier University
Department of Physics and Computer Science
75 University Avenue West
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3C5 Canada
ikotsire@wlu.ca

Associate Editors:

Claire S.J. Adjiman; Imperial College, United Kingdom
c.adjiman@imperial.ac.uk

Laura Albert; University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States
laura.albert@wisc.edu
discrete optimization problems; homeland security; disasters; emergency response; public services and healthcare

Daniel Aloise; Polytechnique Montréal, Canada
aloise@gmail.com
data science; big data; optimization; mathematical programming

Charles Audet; Polytechnique Montréal, Canada
charles.audet@gerad.ca
blackbox optimization; global optimization; bilevel, quadratic, bilinear, and integer programming

Adil Bagirov; Federation University, Australia
a.bagirov@federation.edu.au
non-smooth analysis; global optimization; optimization of water distribution systems; computational intelligence

Baski Balasundaram; Oklahoma State University, United States
baski@okstate.edu
combinatorial optimization; theory, algorithms, computation, graph theory in complex networks

Ernesto G. Birgin; University of São Paulo, Brazil
egbirgin@ime.usp.br
linear and nonlinear programming; numerical optimization; computational differentiation; combinatorial optimization

Apostolos Burnetas; University of Athens, Greece
aburnetas@math.uoa.gr
operations research; adaptive operation and experimentation under uncertainty; stochastic modeling; production and service management

Sergiy Butenko; Texas A & M University, United States
butenko@tamu.edu
global and discrete optimization; network-based data mining; analysis of biological and social networks; wireless ad hoc and sensor networks; energy

Ismet Esra Buyuktahtakin-Toy; New Jersey Institute of Technology, United States
ismet.e.buyuktahtakin-toy@njit.edu
optimization; mixed-integer programming; dynamic programming; OR applications in healthcare, environment, and sustainability

Valentina Cacchiani; University of Bologna, Italy
valentina.cacchiani@unibo.it
integer linear programming models; exact and heuristic algorithms for NP-hard problems

Ignacio Castillio; Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
icastillo@wlu.ca
manufacturing and service operations and logistics; sustainable and closed-loop supply chain management

W. Art Chaovalitwongse; University of Arkansas, United States
artchao@uark.edu
data analytics; machine learning; optimization; medical imaging and signal processing; medical decision making

Altannar Chinchuluun; National University of Mongolia, Mongolia
altannarc@gmail.com
optimization; network design problems; data mining with biomedical applications; computational finance

Tibor Csendes; The University of Szeged, Hungary
csendes@inf.u-szeged.hu
global optimization; reliable numerical procedures; interval mathematics

Aris Daniilidis; Universidad de Chile, Chile
arisd@mat.uab.cat
variational analysis; optimization

Ioannis Demetriou; University of Athens, Greece
demetri@econ.uoa.gr
data smoothing by divided differences; applications to science, engineering, and economics

Ding Z. Du; The University of Texas at Dallas, United States
dzdu@utdallas.edu
design and analysis of approximation algorithms for combinatorial optimization; computational biology; communication networks

Matthias Ehrgott; University of Lancaster, United Kingdom
m.ehrgott@lancaster.ac.uk

Michael G. Epitropakis; The Signal Group, Greece
m.epitropakis@gmail.com
global optimization; evolutionary computation; meta-heuristics; operations research; differential evolution

Leah Epstein; University of Haifa, Israel
lea@math.haifa.ac.il
approximation and polynomial time algorithms; scheduling; load balancing; graph problems

Ozlem Ergun; Northeastern University, United States
o.ergun@northeastern.edu
network design; management and collaboration; systems thinking; mathematical modeling in applications with societal impact

Shu-Cherng Fang; North Carolina State University, United States
fang@eos.ncsu.edu
linear and nonlinear programming; fuzzy optimization and decision making; soft computing and heuristic methods; logistics and supply chain management; telecommunication networks and L1 splines

Paola Festa;  University of Naples Federico II, Italy
paola.festa@unina.it
combinatorial optimization; stochastic optimization; algorithm design and analysis; mathematical programming; network optimization; operations research models

János Fülöp; Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
fulop@sztaki.hu
global optimization; nonconvex programming problems with special structure; decision theory

Alfredo Garcia; Texas A&M University, United States
alfredo.garcia@tamu.edu
game theory; dynamic optimization; electricity and communication networks

Joe Geunes; Texas A&M University, United States
geunes@tamu.edu
production and logistics planning; supply chain management; operations research

Ambros Gleixner; Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany
gleixner@zib.de
computational aspects of mixed-integer linear and nonlinear programming

Boris Goldengorin; University of Baltimore, United States
goldengorin@gmail.com
combinatorial optimization; algorithmic proofs of optimality; machine learning

Chrysanthos E. Gounaris; Carnegie Mellon University, United States
gounaris@cmu.edu
complex decision-making; industrial scheduling; supply-chain optimization; utility network optimization; design of high-performing materials

Ignacio E. Grossman; Carnegie Mellon University, United States
grossmann@cmu.edu
discrete-continuous optimization; process synthesis; planning and scheduling process systems; mixed-integer programming; global optimization

Akshay Gupte; Clemson University, United States
agupte@clemson.edu
mixed-integer programming; polynomial optimization; polyhedral combinatorics

Nicolas Hadjisavvas; University of the Aegean, Greece
nhad@aegean.gr
mathematical foundations of quantum mechanics; generalized convexity and monotonicity; nonsmooth analysis; vectorial optimization

Eligius Hendrix; Wageningen University, Netherlands
eligius.hendrix@wur.nl
global optimization; evolutionary algorithms; stochastic global optimization; nonlinear optimization; quadratic optimization; modelling of uncertainty in decision models; robustness concept; optimal control application in economics; localization optimization

Lisa Holling; Curtin University, Australia
Lisa.Holling@exchange.curtin.edu.au

Jeya Jeyakumar; University of New South Wales, Australia
v.jeyakumar@unsw.edu.au
applied mathematics; calculus of variations; systems theory and control theory; optimization; operations research

Max Klimm; Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany
max.klimm@hu-berlin.de
algorithmic game theory; efficient algorithms; operations research; mechanism design

Matthias Köppe; University of California, Davis, United States
mkoeppe@math.ucdavis.edu
mathematical optimization; integer programming; computational discrete mathematics

Pavlo Krokhmal; The University of Arizona, United States
pavlo.krokhmal@gmail.com
stochastic optimization; decision making under uncertainty; risk analysis; probabilistic and stochastic combinatorial optimization; financial engineering

Simge Küçükyavuz; Northwestern University, United States
simge@northwestern.edu
mixed-integer programming; large-scale optimization; optimization under uncertainty; network optimization

Erhun Kundakcioglu; Özyeğin University, Turkey
erhunk@gmail.com
combinatorial optimization; decision-making under uncertainty; large-scale optimization; data mining applications in healthcare analytics and sustainable energy systems

Takahito Kuno; University of Tsukuba, Japan
takahito@cs.tsukuba.ac.jp
global optimization; combinatorial optimization; computational complexity; computational geometry

Dmitri E. Kvasov; University of Calabria, Italy
kvadim@si.dimes.unical.it
continuous global optimization; parallel and infinity computing in numerical analysis

Leo Liberti; Ecole Polytechnique, France
leoliberti@yahoo.com
reformulations in mathematical programming; mixed-integer nonlinear programming; global and combinatorial optimization; distance geometry and bioinformatics; complex industrial systems; sustainable development

Hongcheng Liu; University of Florida, United States
hliu@ise.ufl.edu
high-dimensional learning; stochastic optimization; algorithms; medical decision-making; traffic modeling

Ivana Ljubic; Universität Wien, Austria
ivana.ljubic@univie.ac.at
network design; combinatorial optimization; optimization under uncertainty; mixed-integer nonlinear programming; (meta-)heuristics

Marco Locatelli; University of Parma, Italy
locatelli@di.unito.it
continuous global optimization

Angelo Lucia; The University of Rhode Island, United States
alucia@uri.edu
modeling; simulation; optimization; design and analysis; computational thermodynamics; numerical methods; computation chemistry

Jérôme Malick; University of Grenoble, France
jerome.malick@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr
nonsmooth optimization; distributed optimization for machine learning; stochastic optimization and electricity generation

Lina Mallozzi; University of Naples Federico II, Italy
mallozzi@unina.it
optimization; game theory

Dmitriy Malyshev; National Research University, Russia
dmalishev@hse.ru
discrete mathematics; combinatorial analysis

Juan Enrique Martínez-Legaz; Universidad de Barcelona, Spain
JuanEnrique.Martinez.Legaz@uab.cat
optimization theory; convex analysis; mathematical economics

Antonino Maugeri; University of Catania, Italy
maugeri@dmi.unict.
linear and non-linear solutions and elliptic and parabolic systems; inequalities and applications to traffic networks and market and financial equilibrium

Frédéric Messine; Institut de Recherche en Informatique de Toulouse, France
frederic.messine@enseeiht.fr
deterministic global optimization; combinatorial optimization; multidimensional scaling

Kaisa Miettinen; University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Kaisa.Miettinen@jyu.fi
multiobjective optimization and decision support; mathematical programming

Athanasios Migdalas; Luleå University of Technology, Sweden
athanasios.migdalas@ltu.se
numerical analysis; cloud computing; combinatorial optimization; multiobjective optimization

Ruth Misener; Imperial College London, United Kingdom
r.misener@imperial.ac.uk
numerical optimization; algorithms; computational software frameworks

Alexander Mitsos; RWTH Aachen University, Germany
alexander.mitsos@avt.rwth-aachen.de
optimization in chemical and energy systems

Boris Mordukhovich; Wayne State University, United States
aa1086@wayne.edu
variational analysis in optimization and control

Lewis Ntaimo; Texas A&M University, United States
ntaimo@tamu.edu
stochastic integer programming; stochastic optimization with applications to healthcare, manufacturing, wildfire management, and mining

Konstantinos E. Parsopoulos; University of Ioannina, Greece
kostasp@cse.uoi.gr
computational optimization; evolutionary algorithms; swarm intelligence

Jun Pei; Hefei University of Technology, China
peijun@hfut.edu.cn
production scheduling; healthcare operations; optimization in manufacturing

Stratos Pistikopoulos; Texas A&M University, United States
stratos@tamu.edu
optimization and process engineering

Leonidas Pitsoulis; Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
pitsouli@auth.gr
combinatorial optimization; computational optimization; complex networks

Oleg Prokopyev; University of Pittsburgh, United States
prokopyev@engr.pitt.edu
network based optimization; global optimization; convex and linear optimization

Themistocles M. Rassias; National Technical University of Athens, Greece
trassias@math.ntua.gr
nonlinear analysis; global analysis; approximation theory; functional analysis; functional equations and inequalities and their applications.

Barbara Rasskazova; National Research University, Russia
varvara.rasskazova@mail.ru

Peruvemba Sundaram Ravi; Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
pravi@wlu.ca
scheduling; management science; supply chain management.

Steffen Rebennack; Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
steffen.rebennack@kit.edu
stochastic optimization/stochastic programming; power systems modeling and optimization; decomposition methods; large-scale optimization; global optimization; mixed-integer nonlinear optimization and programming

Mauricio G.C. Resende; Amazon, United States
mauricio.g.c.resende@gmail.com
combinatorial optimization; design and analysis of algorithms;graph theory; mathematical programming; metaheuristics; network flows; network design; operations research modeling; parallel computing

Jean-Philippe Richard; University of Minnesota, United States
jrichar@umn.edu
integer and mixed-integer linear programming; application of these techniques in medicine, transportation, infrastructure protection

Nikolaos Sahinidis; Carnegie Mellon University, United States
sahinidis@cmu.edu
optimization in biology, chemistry, medicine, and engineering

Pierre Schaus; Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
pierre.schaus@uclouvain.be
constraint programming; discrete optimization; data mining and machine learning

Fabio Schoen; University of Firenze, Italy
fabio.schoen@unifi.it
global optimization

Yaroslav D. Sergeyev; Universitá della Calabria, Italy
yaro@si.deis.unical.it
numerical analysis; global optimization; infinity computing and calculus

Thomas C. Sharkey; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, United States
sharkt@rpi.edu
mathematical programming; network algorithms; combinatorial and computational optimization; supply chain logistics; demand allocation based supply chain optimization models; nonlinear network design problems.

Ruey-Lin Sheu; National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
rsheu@mail.ncku.edu.tw
nonconvex quadratic programming; global optimization; linear and nonlinear optimization; large scale optimization; stochastic optimization; logistics and transportation; telecommunication network planning

Dimitris E. Simos; SBA Research, Austria
DSimos@sba-research.org
combinatorial optimization; combinatorial designs;error correcting codes

Anthony Man-Cho So; The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
manchoso@se.cuhk.edu.hk
optimization methods for high dimensional statistics

Mohit Tawarmalani; Purdue University, United States
mtawarma@purdue.edu
global optimization and engineering;optimization and business analytics

Kok Lay Teo; Curtin University, Australia
k.l.teo@curtin.edu.au
optimal control; optimal filter design

Pascal Van Hentenryck; Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
vanhentenryckpascal@gmail.com
artificial intelligence; data science;operations research with applications to mobility and energy systems

Michael N. Vrahatis; University of Patras, Greece
vrahatis@math.upatras.gr
global optimization; numerical methods and algorithms; artificial neural networks

Karl Tapio Westerlund; Åbo Akademi University, Finland
tapio.westerlund@abo.fi
process systems engineering; large scale optimization in engineering and science

Henry Wolkowicz; University of Waterloo, Canada
hwolkowicz@uwaterloo.ca
optimization in finite dimensional and abstract spaces; linear, nonlinear and semidefinite programming; matrix eigenvalue problems; numerical analysis of algorithms

Weili Wu; The University of Texas at Dallas, United States
weiliwu@utdallas.edu
optimization and wireless networking; robust and scalable algorithms

Zelda Zabinsky; University of Washington, United States
zelda@uw.edu
global optimization with uncertainty; optimization and meta-control; simulation optimization

Anatoly Zhigljavsky; Cardiff University, United Kingdom
ZhigljavskyAA@cardiff.ac.uk
stochastic global optimization; statistic modeling in market research

Xiang Zhong; University of Florida, United States
xiang.zhong@ise.ufl.edu
stochastic modeling and control; data analytics with the application in healthcare, service and production systems

Antanas Žilinskas; Vilnius University, Lithuania
antanas.zilinskas@mii.vu.lt
deterministic global optimization; optimization of biosystems

Julius Žilinskas; Vilnius University, Lithuania
julius.zilinskas@mii.vu.lt
global optimization; optimal design

Read this Journal on Springerlink

For authors and editors

  • Aims and Scope

    Aims and Scope

    Close

    SN Operations Research Forum is a journal that serves the Operations Research community by addressing a broad range of topics, perspectives, methodologies, and industry applications to foster communication among academics and practitioners, theory and application, and a variety of disciplines (e.g., applied mathematics, computer science, business and economics, and engineering).

    The journal covers the entire spectrum of topics, perspectives, methodologies, and industry applications in Operations Research, including, but not limited to:

    • Algorithms
    • Analytics
    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Computational Economics
    • Data Mining
    • Data Sciences
    • Discrete Mathematics
    • Financial Engineering
    • Forecasting
    • Linear Programming
    • Logistics
    • Optimization (Mathematical, Robust, Stochastic)
    • Machine Learning
    • Management Science
    • Mathematical Programming
    • Networks
    • Scheduling
    • Simulation
    • Supply Chain Management
    • Sustainability
    • Theoretical Computer Science

    with applications in a broad range of industries, including Education, Energy, Environment, Health Care, Manufacturing, and Transportation.

    Article types, reflecting the diversity of the community and the types of contributions to the field, include:

    • original research articles
    • surveys/expositions
    • short communications
    • book reviews
    • reports on computational studies
    • case studies
    • tutorials
    • presentations of new and innovative practical applications
    • pre-registration of experiments (through which either positive or negative results may be reported)

    SN Operations Research Forum encourages the submission of videos, letters to the Editors (opinions and commentaries), interviews, observations on timely topics, and other supplementary electronic materials designed to enhance reader engagement. Of particular interest are contributions that identify and critically discuss trends or contribute to the public’s understanding of OR—its motivations, its results, its impact. In its commitment to promoting education, the journal welcomes submission of articles from students and their mentors.

    The journal is committed to being an efficient enterprise to serve the community. We strive for a constructive peer-review process to be conducted in a timely fashion, with all accepted articles immediately being assigned to a specific volume upon publication.

    In addition to direct submissions, SN Operations Research Forum also considers papers that have been referred from Springer Nature’s prestigious Operations Research, Optimization, and Management Science journals portfolio.

  • Submit online
  • Instructions for Authors
  • Topical Collection Proposal Form (docx,...

Alerts for this journal

 

Get the table of contents of every new issue published in SN Operations Research Forum.