Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Birkhäuser - Mathematics | Mikhail L. Gromov Awarded Abel Prize 2009

Mikhail L. Gromov Awarded Abel Prize 2009

On March 26, 2009, the President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Øyvind Østerud, announced Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov as the winner of the Abel Prize.

Gromov, Misha, Author
Mikhail L. Gromov, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, Bures-sur-Yvette, France, has been awarded “for his revolutionary contributions to geometry”. The Abel committee says: "Mikhail Gromov is always in pursuit of new questions and is constantly thinking of new ideas for solutions to old problems. He has produced deep and original work throughout his career and remains remarkably creative. The work of Gromov will continue to be a source of inspiration for many future mathematical discoveries."
(Photo: Gérard Uferas/The Abel Prize/The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters)

The Abel Prize 

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (close to € 700,000, US$ 950,000). Gromov will be given the prize by His Majesty King Harald at an award ceremony in Oslo on May 19.

Gromov and Birkhäuser 

Mikhail Gromov is author of the long-time bestseller "Metric Structures for Riemannian and Non-Riemannian Spaces", originally published as volume 152 in the series "Progress in Mathematics" in 1999, and recently made available in softcover edition in the series "Modern Birkhäuser Classics".