Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

About Springer - What we do - Springer in China | YANG Wei



President of Zhejiang University / Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences


1976, BS, Northwestern Polytechnic University, P. R. China
1981, MS, Tsinghua University, P. R. China
1985, Ph.D., Brown University, USA

Academic Posts 

2011, Chairman of Zhejiang Association for Science and Technology
2009, Interim Chair of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU)
2008, Head of the Technological Science Division, CAS
2006, President of Zhejiang University
Council Member of China Association of Science and Technology;
Asia-Pacific Chair of Global University Network of Innovation (GUNI)
2004, Executive Dean, School of Aerospace School, Chairman of the Academic Committee, Tsinghua University
Director-General of the Academic Degrees Committee of State Council of China
Head of Directorate of Graduate Education in the Ministry of Education of China
Member of The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS)
Chairman of Far East and Oceanic Fracture Society, International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM)
2003, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
2001, Foreign member of the Russian Academy of Astronautics
1999, Yangtze Professor of Ministry of Education of China
1997, Head of Engineering Mechanics Department, Tsinghua University
1993, Director of Failure Mechanics Laboratory, Ministry of Education, China
1989, Professor of Tsinghua University

Research Fields 

Mechatronic Reliability
Fracture Mechanics, Micromechanics, Nanomechanics, Mechanics of Materials
Structural Integrity of Reactor Pressure Vessels and Pipes
Aerospace Technology

Honors & Awards 

2011, Zhou Peiyuan Award for Mechanics
2008, Award for Mathematics and Mechanics by Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation
2002, the National Mayday Medal
1994, the Chinese Young Scientists Award ;
National Young and Mid-aged Experts with Outstanding Contributions
1993, the National Excellent Teacher Award as one of the 10 best teachers nominated by Beijing Municipal Government
1992, the State Council Special Government Allowance;
1988, May Fourth Youth Medal;the Chinese Youth Award for Science and Technology