Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

About Springer - Media - Press Releases | All Fields Medalists 2010 are Springer authors

Heidelberg / Hyderabad, 19 August 2010

All Fields Medalists 2010 are Springer authors

Awards presented at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Hyderabad

Fields Medal Front Archimedes
Springer is happy to announce that the winners of the Fields Medals 2010 are all Springer authors: Elon Lindenstrauss, Ngô Bảo Châu, Stanislav Smirnov and Cédric Villani. The Fields Medal, awarded this year at the International Congress of Mathematicians 2010 (ICM) in Hyderabad, India, is the most important international prize in mathematics and is often called the ‘Nobel Prize in Mathematics.’ Between two and four mathematicians under the age of forty can be honored with the prize.
Also awarded at the ICM 2010 were the prestigious Nevanlinna Prize (Daniel Alan Spielman), The Gauss Prize (Yves Meyer) and the Chern Medal Award (Louis Nirenberg), given for the very first time this year. Springer congratulates the awardees, all of whom have a long history of publishing with Springer. The fact that all of the awardees are Springer authors underscores Springer’s role as a leading mathematics publisher.
Elon Lindenstrauss
Elon Lindenstrauss, born in 1970 in Jerusalem, was awarded the Fields Medal for his results on measure rigidity in ergodic theory, and their applications to number theory. His work is exceptionally deep and its impact goes far beyond ergodic theory. At Princeton University since 2004, Lindenstrauss will transfer to Hebrew University in Jerusalem in September 2010.
Ngô Bảo Châu, born in 1972 in Hanoi, has received the Fields Medal for his proof of the Fundamental Lemma in the theory of automorphic forms through the introduction of new algebro-geometric methods. His achievement, which lies at the crossroads between algebraic geometry, group theory and automorphic forms, leads to many striking advances in the Langlands program as well as the subjects linked to it. In September 2010, Ngô will start his new appointment at the University of Chicago.
Amidst an enthusiastic crowd at the Springer booth Fields Medalist Ngô Bảo Châu signs copies of offprints of his contribution in Publications Mathématiques de L'IHÉS (Volume 111, Number 1, April 2010). The 169 page article addresses the proof of the fundamental lemma for Lie algebras. Ngô received the Fields Medal based on this proof.
Stanislav Smirnov
Stanislav Smirnov, born in 1970 in St. Petersburg, Russia, was honored with the Fields Medal for the proof of conformal invariance of percolation and the planar Ising model in statistical physics. The proof is elegant and is based on extremely insightful combinatorial arguments. Smirnov's work gave the solid foundation for important methods in statistical physics. The Russian mathematician is currently at the Université of Genève, Switzerland.
Stanislav Smirnov has been a long standing editor for the Springer journal Letters in Mathematical Physics as well as the book series Theoretical and Mathematical Physics, and he published journal articles in the leading Springer math journals Inventiones Mathematicae, Probability and Related Fields, and in many other math journals.
Cédric Villani, born in 1973 in Brive-la-Gaillarde, France, was awarded the Fields Medal for his proofs of nonlinear Landau damping and convergence to equilibrium for the Boltzmann equation. He has been one of the pioneers in the applications of optimal transport theory to geometric and functional inequalities. In 2009 he was appointed director of the Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris.
The photo shows Cédric Villani signing copies at the Springer booth of his Grundlehren volume, “Optimal Transport: Old and New”. In addition to the Grundlehren volume, Villani has published two volumes in Lecture Notes in Mathematics, as well as many journal articles in leading Springer math journals Inventiones Mathematicae, Numerische Mathematik, Mathematische Zeitschrift, Probability and Related Fields, and in many other math journals. He is also an editor of Inventiones Mathematicae and serves on the board of the Birkhäuser book series, Frontiers in Mathematics.
The Fields Medal, named after the Canadian mathematician John C. Fields, honors outstanding mathematical achievements for existing work and the promise of future achievement. Awarded every four years, the medal was first presented at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Oslo in 1936. The Fields Medal is made of gold and the award includes a cash prize of Canadian $15,000.
Daniel Spielman
Daniel Alan Spielman, born in Philadelphia in 1970 and currently at Yale University, has been chosen for the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize for smoothed analysis of linear programming, algorithms for graph-based codes and applications of graph theory to numerical computing. A second major contribution of Spielman is in the area of coding. The Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, recognizing exceptional contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences, consists of a gold medal and a cash prize of € 10,000.
Yves Meyer, born in 1939, has been selected for the Gauss Prize for fundamental contributions to number theory, operator theory and harmonic analysis, and his pivotal role in the development of wavelets and multiresolution analysis. He is Professor Emeritus at École Normale Supérieure de Cachan after having served as a professor from 1999 to 2009 at the same institution. The Gauss Prize consists of a gold medal and a cash award of € 10,000. It was created to emphasize that mathematics is a driving force behind many modern technologies.
The photo shows Yves Meyer (l.) and Joachim Heinze (r.) Executive Vice President Mathematics, Springer, at the congress in Hyderabad.
Louis Nirenberg
Louis Nirenberg, born in 1925 in Hamilton, Canada, has been selected to be the first recipient of the Chern Medal for his role in the formulation of the modern theory of non-liner elliptic partial differential equations and for mentoring numerous students and post-docs in this area. He is at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences at New York University. The Chern Medal Award, established in the memory of the outstanding Chinese mathematician Shiing-Shen Chern (1911 – 2004), was awarded for the first time this year. Recognizing significant achievements in the field of mathematics, the award consists of a gold medal and a cash prize of US$ 250,000.
Springer (www.springer.com) is a leading global scientific publisher of books and journals, delivering quality content through innovative information products and services. It publishes close to 500 academic and professional society journals. Springer is part of the publishing group Springer Science+Business Media. In the science, technology and medicine (STM) sector, the group publishes around 2,000 journals and more than 6,500 new books a year, as well as the largest STM eBook Collection worldwide. Springer has operations in about 20 countries in Europe, the USA, and Asia, and more than 5,000 employees.