Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Physics - Condensed Matter Physics | Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics

Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics

This prize, to be awarded annually since 1998, has been established by the Editors of Applied Physics A - Materials Science and Processing and Applied Physics B - Lasers and Optics and Springer. The recipient will be a scientist who has made an outstanding and innovative contribution to the field of applied physics. The prize money of US$ 5000 is intended as an incentive for further research and development.

2014 Harry Atwater and Albert Polman 

This year’s Prize was awarded to Dr. Harry A. Atwater (Caltech Pasadena, USA) and Dr. Albert Polman (FOM Institute AMOLF, Amsterdam, The Netherlands) for their pioneering achievements in plasmonics and novel nanophotonic routes to ultrahigh-efficiency solar energy conversion.
Atwater and Polman have made key contributions to the research area of nanophotonics, the science of light at the nanoscale. In particular, they have pioneered the use of metallic nanostructures that support optical resonances called surface plasmons, to control light at the nanoscale. A key novel insight of their research regards the use of optical nanostructures in photovoltaics.

2013 Sir John Pendry 

Sir John had been selected for his outstanding and innovative contributions to the field of optical metamaterial science. In fact, he is one of the pioneers in that fast growing field.
In addition, he introduced a simple method of creating a lens whose focus is theoretically perfect. The so-called “superlens” has revolutionized nanoscale optics.
Wide public appraisal followed his work on the “Invisibility Cloak”. The idea of bending light in such a way that it could form a container around an object effectively making the object invisible. This idea has stimulated much recent work in the field of metamaterials.

2012 Thomas Elsässer and Horst Weller 

For their pioneering achievements and the detailed understanding of elementary processes on the sub-nanoscale, including time-resolved ultrafast movement of atoms and charges in crystals and the precise creation of functionalized nanopartical material complexes and their applications.
Presented at the Akademie der Künste, Berlin, June 20, 2012

2011 Orazio Svelto 

Svelto received the award for his pioneering, long-lasting and innovative work in the fields of lasers and optics. He is an internationally renowned laser and photonics scientist and one of the worldwide leaders of the scientific community in this field. The award was presented during the Laser World of Photonics Congress in Munich, Germany.

2010 Henri Lezec and Federico Capasso 

Henri Lezec and Federico Capasso have received the Prize for their pioneering achievements in nanoscale physics and applications.They received their awards at the Julius Springer Forum on Applied Physics held at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California.

2009 Motoichi Ohtsu 

Prof. Ohtsu was awarded for his pioneering and seminal work on nanophotonics and near field optics as well as for the development of innovative nanophotonic devices, fabrications, and systems.The prize has been presented during the ECOC-Meeting in Vienna on September 22, 2009.

2008 Phaedon Avouris and Tony Heinz 

Tony Heinz and Phaedon Avouris. The Prize was awarded at the Julius Springer Forum on Applied Physics, which took place at Harvard University on 27 September 2008.

2007 Stefan W. Hell 

The 2007 Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics was awarded to Göttingen-based researcher Stefan Hell at an international meeting of the photonics industry in Munich. The prize recognizes Hell for his revolutionary discovery that resolutions far below the diffraction limit can be achieved in a fluorescence microscope using conventionally focused light.

2006 Viola Vogel 

The 2006 Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics was awarded to Dr. Viola Vogel for her creative and pioneering work on bionanotechnology exploring single molecule mechanics and nanomotors for technical applications.

2005 Hidetoshi Katori  

2005's Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics was awarded to the Japanese scientist Hidetoshi Katori for his pioneering work on ultrahigh precision optical clocks and its enormous impact on basic research as well as on a great variety of applications.

2004 Hongjie Dai and Peidong Yang  

Hongjie Dai of Stanford University and Peidong Yang of UC Berkeley for their pioneering research in the nanosciences and the applications in the field of nanotechnology derived from their findings.

2003 Anne L'Huillier and Ferenc Krausz 

Anne L'Huillier, University of Lund, Sweden for the prediction of attosecond pulses.
Ferenc Krausz, Vienna University of Technology, Vienna, Austria for the experimental generation of these extremely short light pulses.

2002 Cees Dekker 

Cees Dekker, Delft Technical University for the discovery of the electronic properties of carbon nanotubes and for pioneering work on their application in single-molecule electronic devices.

2001 Eli Yablonovitch 

Eli Yablonovitch, UCLA for his pioneering work on Photonic Crystals.

2000 Stan Williams and James R. Heath 

Stan Williams, Hewlett Packard, Palo Alto, CA and James R. Heath, ULCA for their outstanding achievements in the area of nanoscience and nanotechnology and their applications.

1999 Shuji Nakamura 

Shuji Nakamura, Nichia Chemical Industries, Tokushima, Japan for his invention of the blue laser diode.

1998 Peter Fromherz 

Peter Fromherz, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany for the invention of Neuron–Silicon Junctions.