Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Environmental Sciences | International Journal of Biometeorology – incl. option to publish open access (Editorial Board)

International Journal of Biometeorology

International Journal of Biometeorology

Editor-in-Chief: Scott C. Sheridan

ISSN: 0020-7128 (print version)
ISSN: 1432-1254 (electronic version)

Journal no. 484

$99.00 Personal Rate e-only for the Americas
Get Subscription

Online subscription, valid from January through December of current calendar year

Immediate access to this year's issues via SpringerLink

1 Volume(-s) with 12 issue(-s) per annual subscription

Automatic annual renewal

More information: >> FAQs // >> Policy

Editor-in-Chief:

Scott C. Sheridan

Professor and Departmental Chairperson

Department of Geography

Kent State University

P.O. Box 5190

Kent, Ohio 44242-0001, USA

Tel.: +1-330-672-3224

Fax: +1-330-672-4304

E-mail: ssherid1@kent.edu

 

Managing Editor:

 

Cameron C. Lee

Department of Georgraphy

Kent State University

308 McGilvrey Hall

Tel:  +1-330-672-2045

Fax: +1-330-672-4304

E-mail: cclee@kent.edu

 

Field Editors

 

Aerobiology

Matt Smith

Laboratory of Aeropalynology

Faculty of Biology

Adam Mickiewicz Univesity

Umultowska 89

61-614 Poznàn, Poland

E-mail: Eaeromattsmith@gmail.com

 

Agricultural Meteorology

Simone Orlandini

Department of Plant, Soil and Environmental Science

University of Florence

Piazzale della Cascine 18

50144 Firenze, Italy

E-mail: simone.orlandini@unifi.it

 

Agricultural Meteorology

Paulo Cesar Sentelhas

Department of Biosystems Engineering

ESALQ - University of São Paulo

Avenida Padua Dias 11

13418-900 Piracicaba, Sao Paulo, Brazil

E-mail: pcsentel.esalq@usp.br

 

 

Animals

Robert P. Rhoads Jr.

Associate Professor, Department of Animal & Poultry Sciences

Associate Professor of Health Sciences

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

3080 Litton-Reaves Hall (0306)

Blacksburg, VA 24061, USA

E-mail: rhoadsr@vt.edu

Office: (540) 231-5134

Cell: (540) 629-3989

 

Animals

Veerasamy Sejian

Senior Scientist

Animal Physiology Division

ICAR-National Institute of Animal Nutrition and Physiology

Hosur Road, Adugodi, Bangalore-560030, India

E-mail: drsejian@gmail.com

 

Animals

Leonel Avendaño-Reyes

Instituto de Ciencias Agrícolas

Universidad Autónoma de Baja California

Ejido Nuevo León, Baja California, Mexico

E-mail: lar62@hotmail.com

 

 

Climate Change and Ecology

Lynda Chambers

11-13 Minter Court

Park Orchards

Melbourne, VIC 3114, Australia

E-mail: phenologist@gmail.com

 

 

Climate and Health

P. Grady Dixon

Department of Geosciences

Fort Hays State University

600 Park St

Hays, KS 67601-4099, USA

E-mail: pgdixon@fhsu.edu

Tel: +1-785-628-4536

 

Climate and Health

Michael Allen

Department of Political Science and Geography

7035 Batten Arts & Letters

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VA 23529-0088, USA

E-mail: mallen@odu.edu

 

Epidemiology

Kathryn C Conlon

Climate and Health Program, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

4770 Buford Hwy MS F-59

Chamblee, GA 30341, USA

E-mail: Gbq6@cdc.gov

 

 

Forests

Thomas Holst

Department of Earth and Ecosystem Sciences

Division of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Analysis

Centre for GeoBiosphere Science

Lund University

Sölvegatan 12

SE-223 62 Lund, Sweden

E-mail: Thomas.Holst@nateko.lu.se

 

Forests

Chung-Te Chang

Department of Geography

National Taiwan University

No. 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Road

Taipei 10617, Taiwan

E-mail: changchuante@gmail.com

 

Humans

Antonella Fioravanti

Rheumatology Unit

Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Senese

“Le Scotte” Policlinico

Viale Bracci 1

53100 Siena, Italy

E-mail: fioravanti7@virgilio.it

  

Humans

Naoshi Kakitsuba

Department of Environment and Technology

School of Science andTechnology

Meijo University

468-8502 Shiogamaguchi 1-501, Tenpaku-ku,

Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture

Japan

E-mail: naoshi@meijo-u.ac.jp

 

Phenology

Mark D. Schwartz

Department of Geography

Bolton Hall Room 410

P.O. Box 413

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI 53201-0413, USA

Tel.: +1-414-229-3740 or -4866

Fax: +1-414-229-3981

E-mail: mds@uwm.edu

 

Thermal Environment

Krzysztof  Blażejczyk

Polish Academy of Sciences

Institute of Geography and Spatial Organization

Dept. of Geoecology and Climatology

Tward 51/55, 00-818 Warzawa, Poland

E-mail: k.blaz@twarda.pan.pl

Tel: +48 22 69 78 910

 

Urban Biometeorology

Tzu-Ping Lin

Department of Architecture

National Chen Kung University

1 University Road

Taiwan 701

Taiwan

E-mail: lintp@mail.ncku.edu.tw

Tel: +886 6 2757575 ext. 54145

 

Editorial Advisory Board

 

Paul J. Beggs

Macquarie University, Australia

E-mail: paul.beggs@mq.edu.au

 

Ariel Berman

Hebrew University, Israel

E-mail: amielberman@mail.huji.ac.il

 

Luigi Calamari

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy

E-mail: luigi.calamari@unicatt.it

 

Judy Cawdell-Smith

University of Queensland, Australia

E-mail: j.cawdellsmith@uq.edu.au

 

Carla Cesariccio

National Research Council of Italy

E-mail: C.Cesaraccio@ibimet.cnr.it

 

Xiaoqiu Chen

Peking University, China

E-mail: cxq@pku.edu.cn

 

Frank-M. Chimielewski

Humboldt-University of Berlin, Germany

E-mail: chmielew@agrar.hu-berlin.de

 

Zalika Črepinšek

University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

E-mail: zalika.crepinsek@bf.uni-lj.si

 

Theresa M. Crimmins

University of Arizona, USA

E-mail: theresa@usanpn.org

 

 

Junhu Dai

Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

E-mail: daijh@igsnrr.ac.cn

 

Rebeccea Darbyshire

The University of Melbourne, Australia

E-mail: rebecca.darbyshire@unimelboedu.au

 

Kristie Ebi

University of Washington, USA

E-mail: krisebi@uw.edu

 

Yoram Epstein

Sheba Medical Center, Israel

E-mail: Yoram.epstein@sheba.health.gov.il

 

Pablo Fernandez De Arroya Hernaez

Universidad de Cantabria, Spain

E-mail: pablo.fdezarroyabe@unican.es

 

Ermes Frazzi

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy

E-mail: ermes.frazzi@unicatt.it

 

John Gaughan

The University of Queensland, Australia

E-mail: j.gaughan@uq.edu.au

 

Carmen Galán

University of Córdoba, Spain

E-mail: bv1gasoc@uco.es

 

William Goggins

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

E-mail: wgoggins@cuhk.edu.hk

 

Simon N. Gosling

University of Nottingham, UK

E-mail: simon.gosling@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Scott Greene

University of Oklahoma, USA

E-mail: jgreene@ou.edu

 

Lukasz Grewling

Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland

E-mail: lukaszgrewling@gmail.com

 

Bronwyn Harch

Queensland University of Technology

E-mail: Bronwyn.Harch@qut.edu.au

 

Sharon L. Harlan

Arizona State University, USA

E-mail: sharon.harlan@asu.edu

 

Masaaki Hashimoto

Teikyo University of Science, Japan

E-mail: mhashi@ntu.ac.jp

 

George Havenith

Loughborough University, UK

E-mail: G.Havenith@lboro.ac.uk

 

Geoffrey M. Henebry

South Dakota State University, USA

E-mail: Geoffrey.Henebry@sdstate.edu

 

Jutta Holst

Lund University, Sweden

E-mail: Jutta.holst@nateko.lu.se

 

Yasushi Honda

University of Tsukuba, Japan

E-mail: honda@taiiku.tsukuba.ac.jp

 

David Inouye

University of Maryland, USA

E-mail: inouye@umd.edu

 

Adam J. Kalkstein

United States Military Academy, USA

E-mail: Adam.Kalkstein@usma.edu

 

Idalia Kasprzyk

University of Rzeszów, Poland

E-mail: idalia@univ.rzeszow.pl

 

Marie Keatley

University of Melbourne, Australia

E-mail: mrk@unimelb.edu.au

 

Kurt Christian Kersebaum

Leibniz-Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, Germany

E-mail: ckersebaum@zalf.de

 

Ho Kim

Seoul National University, South Korea

E-mail: hokim@snu.ac.kr

 

Kim Knowlton

Natural Resources Defense Council, USA

E-mail: kknowlton@nrdc.org

 

Elisabeth Koch

Central Institute for Meteorology and Geodynamics, Austria

E-mail: elisabeth.koch@zamg.ac.at

 

Alar Läänelaid

University of Atartu, Estonia

E-mail: alar.laaneladi@ut.edu

 

Liang Liang

University of Kentucky, USA

E-mail: liang.liang@uky.edu

 

Toshio Makie

National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center, Tokyo, Japan

E-mail: makie@info.med.kyushu-u.ac.jp

 

 

László Makra

University of Szeged, Hungary

E-mail: makra@geo.u-szeged.hu

 

Helmut Mayer

Albert-Ludwigs-University, Germany

E-mail: helmut.mayer@meteo.uni-freiburg.de    

 

Marco Morabito

Institute of Biometeorology - National Research Council, Florence, Italy

E-mail: m.morabito@ibimet.cnr.it

 

Matthew Muller

Penn State Hershey Heart and Vascular Institute, USA

E-mail: mmuller1@hmc.psu.edu

 

Panagiotis Nastos

University of Athens, Greece

E-mail: nastos@geol.uoa.gr

 

Richard Primack

Boston University, USA

E-mail: primack@bu.edu

 

Dirk Schindler

Albert-Ludwigs-University, Freiburg, Germany

E-mail: dirk.schindler@meteo.uni-freiburg.de

 

Avraham Shitzer

Technio Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

E-mail: merasa@technion.ac.il

 

Tim Sparks

Coventry University, UK

E-mail: thsparks@btopenworld.com

 

Alan Stewart

University of Georgia, USA

E-mail: aeswx@uga.edu 

 

Brian Stone, Jr.

Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

E-mail: stone@gatech.edu

 

Shilu Tong

Queensland University of Technology, Australia

E-mail: s.tong@qut.edu.au

 

János Unger

University of Szeged, Hungary

E-mail: unger@geo.u-szeged.hu

 

Jennifer K. Vanos

University of California, San Diego

jkvanos@ucsd.edu

Cuizhen Wang

University of South Carolina, USA

E-mail: cwang@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Ksenija Zaninovic

Meteorological and Hydrological Service, Croatia

E-mail: ksenija.zaninovic@cirus.dhz.hr

 

Lewis Ziska

USDA-ARS, Crop Systems and Global Change, USA

E-mail: Lewis.Ziska@ARS.USDA.GOV

Read this Journal on Springerlink

For authors and editors


  • Journal Citation Reports®
    2016 Impact Factor
  • 2.204
  • Aims and Scope

    Aims and Scope

    Close

    The International Journal of Biometeorology serves as the flagship publication of the International Society of Biometeorology, and thematically reflects the Society’s core research interests. 

    The Journal publishes original research papers, review articles, and short communications on studies examining the relationships between the atmospheric environment and living organisms. Living organisms extend from single-cell organisms to plants and animals, including humans. The atmospheric environment includes both climatological and meteorological conditions, in both natural and artificial surroundings, for both historical or climate-change related analyses. The Journal embraces both theoretical and applied research. 

    The Editorial Board encourages papers that explore novel methods with results that significantly advance the collective body of biometeorological knowledge, as well as those that use this knowledge to improve the resilience of human and natural systems.  Research papers are expected to adhere to scientific standards, including clear expression of hypotheses, appropriate methods, and a thorough discussion and interpretation of the results within the context of existing literature. 

    As an international journal, research papers from all locations are welcome as long as they are of interest to an international audience.  
    Manuscripts that focus on replicating existing methods, testing hypotheses well addressed in the literature, and/or producing results primarily of local interest, are discouraged.

    Editor-in-Chief: Scott C. Sheridan, Professor and Acting Departmental Chairperson, Department of Geography, Kent State University, Ohio, USA

  • Submit Online
  • Open Choice - Your Way to Open Access
  • Instructions for Authors

    Instructions for Authors

    Close

  • Author Academy: Training for Authors
  • Copyright Information

    Copyright Information

    Close

    Submission of a manuscript implies: that the work described has not been published before (except in form of an abstract or as part of a published lecture, review or thesis); that it is not under consideration for publication elsewhere; that its publication has been approved by all co-authors, if any, as well as - tacitly or explicitly - by the responsible authorities at the institution where the work was carried out. The author warrants that his/her contribution is original and that he/she has full power to make this grant. The author signs for and accepts responsibility for releasing this material on behalf of any and all co-authors. Transfer of copyright to the International Society of Biometeorology becomes effective if and when the article is accepted for publication. After submission of the Copyright Transfer Statement signed by the corresponding author, changes of authorship or in the order of the authors listed will not be accepted by Springer.

    The copyright covers the exclusive right (for U.S. government employees: to the extent transferable) to reproduce and distribute the article, including reprints, translations, photographic reproductions, microform, electronic form (offline, online) or other reproductions of similar nature.

    All articles published in this journal are protected by copyright, which covers the exclusive rights to reproduce and distribute the article (e.g., as offprints), as well as all translation rights. No material published in this journal may be reproduced photographically or stored on microfilm, in electronic data bases, video disks, etc., without first obtaining written permission from the International Society of Biometeorology.

    The use of general descriptive names, trade names, trademarks, etc., in this publication, even if not specifically identified, does not imply that these names are not protected by the relevant laws and regulations.

    An author may self-archive an author-created version of his/her article on his/her own website. He/she may also deposit this version on his/her institution's and funder's (funder designated) repository, including his/her final version, provided it is not made publicly available until after 12 months of official publication. He/she may not use the publisher's PDF version which is posted on www.springerlink.com for the purpose of self-archiving or deposit. Furthermore, the author may only post his/her version provided acknowledgement is given to the original source of publication and a link is inserted to the published article on Springer's website. The link must be accompanied by the following text: "The original publication is available at www.springerlink.com".

    The author is requested to use the appropriate DOI for the article (go to the Linking Options in the article, then to OpenURL and use the link with the DOI). Articles disseminated via www.springerlink.com are indexed, abstracted and referenced by many abstracting and information services, bibliographic networks, subscription agencies, library networks, and consortia.

    While the advice and information in this journal is believed to be true and accurate at the date of its publication, neither the authors, the editors, nor the publisher can accept any legal responsibility for any errors or omissions that may be made. The publisher makes no warranty, express or implied, with respect to the material contained herein.

    Special regulations for photocopies in the USA. Photocopies may be made for personal or in-house use beyond the limitations stipulated under Section 107 or 108 of U.S. Copyright Law, provided a fee is paid. All fees should be paid to the Copyright Clearance Center, Inc., 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, USA, Tel.:+1-978-7508400, Fax:+1-978-6468600, http://www.copyright.com, stating the ISSN of the journal, the volume, and the first and last page numbers of each article copied. The copyright owner's consent does not include copying for general distribution, promotion, new works, or resale. In these cases, specific written permission must first be obtained from the publisher.

    The Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (CISTI) provides a comprehensive, world-wide document delivery service for all Springer journals. For more information, or to place an order for a copyright-cleared Springer document, please contact Client Assistant, Document Delivery, CISTI, Ottawa K1A 0S2, Canada (Tel. +1-613-9939251, Fax +1-613-9528243, e-mail: cisti.docdel@nrc.ca).

    Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg is a part of
    Springer Science+Business Media

    springer.com

    Ownership and Copyright
    © International Society of Biometeorology

Services for the Journal

Alerts for this journal

 

Get the table of contents of every new issue published in International Journal of Biometeorology.