Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Environmental Sciences | Estuaries and Coasts - incl. option to publish open access (Editorial Board)

Estuaries and Coasts

Estuaries and Coasts

Journal of the Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation

Co-Editors-in-Chief: W.S. Gardner; C. Simenstad

ISSN: 1559-2723 (print version)
ISSN: 1559-2731 (electronic version)

Journal no. 12237

Co-Editors-in-Chief

Wayne S. Gardner, The University of Texas at Austin Marine Science Institute, Port Aransas, TX, wayne.gardner@utexas.edu

Charles Simenstad, Wetland Ecosystem Team, School of Fisheries, University of Washington, Box 355020, Seattle, Washington 98195-5020, simenstd@u.washington.edu

Editorial Coordinator

Taylor Bowen, Estuaries and Coasts, PO Box 263, Charlottesville, Virginia, telephone: 434-977-5494, estuariesandcoasts@erf.org

Reviews and Perspectives Editor

Iris C. Anderson, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, The College of William and Mary, Gloucester Point, VA iris@vims.edu

Associate Editors

Marco Bartoli, Department of Life Sciences, University of Parma, Viale Usberti 11/A, 43124, Parma, Italy

Linda Bloom, Department of Environmental Sciences, University of Virginia, Clark Hall, Charlottesville, VA 2294, lkb2e@virginia.edu

William Boicourt, University of Maryland, Horn Point Laboratory, Cambridge, MD 21613, boicourt@umces.edu

Alberto V. Borges, University of Liège, Chemical Oceanography Unit, Institut de Physique (B5), B-4000 Liège; alberto.borges@ulg.ac.be

Mark J. Brush, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William and Mary, Gloucester Point, VA, brush@vims.edu

John Callaway, Department of Environmental Science, University of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA, callaway@usfca.edu

Jacob Carstensen, National Environmental Research Institute, University of Aarhus, P.O. Box 358, 399 Frederiksborgvej, DK-4000 Roskilde, Denmark; jac@dmu.dk

Robert Christian, East Carolina University, Department of Biology, Greenville, NC 27858, christiar@ecu.edu

D. Reide Corbett, East Carolina University, Department of Geological Sciences, Greenville, NC 27858, corbettd@ecu.edu

Carolyn Currin, NOAA National Ocean Service, Center for Coastal Fisheries and Habitat Research, 101 Pivers Island Road, Beaufort, NC 28516, Carolyn.currin@noaa.gov

Ken Dunton, University of Texas, Marine Science Institute, 750 Channel View Drive, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5015, ken.dunton@mail.utexas.edu.

Bradley Eyre, Centre for Coastal Biogeochemistry, Southern Cross University, P.O. Box 157, Lismore, NSW 2480 (Australia); beyre@scu.edu.au

Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William and Mary, Gloucester Point Virginia, 23062, cfried@vims.edu

Judith Grassle, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers University, Cook College Campus, P.O. Box 231, New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903-0231; jgrassle@imcs.rutgers.edu

Holly Greening, Tampa Bay Estuary Program, 100 8th Ave SE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701, hgreening@tbep.org

Ted Grosholz, University of California, Davis, Department of Environmental Science and Policy, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Program, One Shields Ave., Davis, California 95616, tedgrosholz@ucdavis.edu

Robert D. Hetland, Texas A&M University, 3146 TAMU, College Station, TX, 77843-3146, hetland@tamu.edu

Marianne Holmer, Institute of Biology, University of Southern Denmark, Campusvej 55, Odense M, 5230, Denmark; holmer@biology.sdu.dk

Nancy Jackson, Department of Chemistry and Environmental Science, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102; jacksonn@njit.edu

Greg Jenkins, University of Melbourne, Marine Ecology and Physiology, DPI Queenscliff Centre, PO Box 114 Queenscliff 3225, greg.jenkins@dpi.vic.gov.au

Wim Kimmerer, San Francisco State University, Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental Studies, 3152 Paradise Drive, Tiburon, California 94920, kimmerer@sfsu.ed

Robert J. Latour, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, Rt 1208 Greate Rd., Gloucester Pt., VA, 23062, latour@vims.edu

Karin E. Limburg, Department of Environmental and Forest Biology, State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse, NY 13210

Darcy Lonsdale, Marine Sciences Research Center, State University of New York, Stony Brook, New York 11794-5000; dlonsdale@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

Nuria Marba, Institut Mediterrani d'Estudis Avançats (CSIC-UIB), Miquel Marquès 21, 07190 Esporles (Illes Balears), Spain, nmarba@imedea.uib-csic.es

Carles Ibàñez Martí, Director of the Aquatic Ecosystems Program, IRTA, 43540 Sant Carles de la Ràpita, Catalonia, Spain, carles.ibanez@irta.cat

Siddhartha Mitra, East Carolina University, Geological Sciences, Greenville, NC 27858, MITRAS@ecu.edu

Stephen Monismith, Stanford University, Environmental Fluid Mechanics, Stanford CA 94305

Scott Neubauer, University of South Carolina, Belle W. Baruch Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, PO Box 1630, Georgetown, SC 29442, scott@belle.baruch.sc.edu

Alf Norkko,Tvärminne Zoological Station, University of Helsinki, J.A. Palméns väg 260, FI-10900, Hanko, Finland alf.norkko@helsinki.fi

Hans Paerl, University of North Carolina, C hapel Hill, Institute of Marine Sciences, 3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557, hpaerl@email.unc.edu

David Ralston, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Applied Ocean Physics and Engineering Department, Woods Hole, MA, 02543, dralston@whoi.edu

Christina Richards, University of South Florida, College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Integrative Biology, 4202 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa FL 33620-5200, clr@cas.usf.edu

Lawrence P. Rozas, NOAA Fisheries Service/SEFSC, Estuarine Habits and Coastal Fisheries Center, Lafayette, LA 70506, lawrence.rozas@noaa.gov

Isaac Santos, Centre for Coastal Biogeochemistry, School of Environmental Science and Management, Southern Cross University PO Box 157 Lismore NSW 2480 Australia, isaac.santos@scu.edu.au

Rui Santos, Universidade do Algarve, Centro de Ciencias Do Mar Do Algarve, Campus de Gambelas, 8005-139 Faro, Portugal, rosantos@ualg.pt

Bongkeun Song, Department of Biology and Marine Biology, Center for Marine Sciences, University of North Carolina Wilmington, 5600 Marvin K. Moss Lane, Wilmington, NC 28409, songb@uncw.edu

Josianne Støttrup, DTU Aqua, National Institute of Aquatic Resources, Section for Coastal Ecology, Technical University of Denmark, Charlottenlund Slot, Jaegersborg Alle 1, 2920 Charlottenlund, Denmark, jgs@aqua.dtu.dk

Dennis P. Swaney, Dept of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, E309 Corson Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca NY 14853. dps1@cornell.edu

Craig Tobias, Marine Sciences, University of Connecticut, 1080 Shennecossett Rd., Groton, CT 06340, craig.tobias@uconn.edu

Arnoldo Valle-Levinson, University of Florida, Civil and Coastal Engineering Department, 365 Weil Hall, PO Box 116580, Gainesville, FL 32611-6580

Wen-Xiong Wang, Department of Biology, HKUST, Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong; wwang@ust.hk; http://ihome.ust.hk/~wwang/

Richard C. Zimmerman, Department of Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA, USA. rzimmerm@odu.edu

 

Articles

For authors and editors


  • Journal Citation Reports®, Thomson Reuters
    2013 Impact Factor
  • 2.245
  • Aims and Scope

    Aims and Scope

    Close

    Estuaries and Coasts is the journal of the Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation. It publishes original research on the hydrodynamics, hydrology, (geo)chemistry, geology, biology and their interactions in marine waters influenced by connectivity to land. The journal's geographic scope includes coastal watersheds, tidal rivers, estuaries, lagoons, inland seas, wetlands, and near-shore coastal waters from polar to equatorial latitudes. The Editors encourage submissions that present novel approaches, findings or concepts of general interest to better understand the functioning and structure of coastal systems and will interest the journal's increasingly international readership. Submissions that are primarily descriptive, strongly place based, or report on development of models or new methods without detailing their applications fall outside the scope of the journal.

    Manuscripts will be judged on the basis of their contribution of original data, ideas and interpretation. Only material intended for publication in Estuaries and Coasts will be considered. Manuscripts must be written in English but may have an abstract in an alternate language when appropriate. Manuscripts will be reviewed by a member of the Editorial Board and by at least two anonymous reviewers.

     

  • Submit Online
  • Open Choice - Your Way to Open Access
  • Instructions for Authors

    Instructions for Authors

    Close

  • Guidelines for Special Issues (pdf, 188 ...

Alerts for this journal

 

Get the table of contents of every new issue published in Estuaries and Coasts.