Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Environmental Sciences | Estuaries and Coasts - incl. option to publish open access (Editorial Board)

Estuaries and Coasts

Estuaries and Coasts

Journal of the Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation

Co-Editor-in-Chief: P. Montagna; C. Simenstad

ISSN: 1559-2723 (print version)
ISSN: 1559-2731 (electronic version)

Journal no. 12237

$99.00 Personal Rate e-only for the Americas
Get Subscription

Online subscription, valid from January through December of current calendar year

Immediate access to this year's issues via SpringerLink

1 Volume(-s) with 6 issue(-s) per annual subscription

Automatic annual renewal

More information: >> FAQs // >> Policy

Co-Editors-in-Chief

Paul A. Montagna, Harte Research Institute, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Corpus Christi, TX, paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

Charles Simenstad, Wetland Ecosystem Team, School of Fisheries, University of Washington, Box 355020, Seattle, Washington 98195-5020, simenstd@u.washington.edu

Managing Editor

Taylor Bowen, Estuaries and Coasts, PO Box 263, Charlottesville, Virginia, telephone: 434-218-3366, estuariesandcoasts@erf.org

Reviews and Perspectives Editor

Iris C. Anderson, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, The College of William and Mary, Gloucester Point, VA, iris@vims.edu

Associate Editors

Mead Allison, Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA and The Water Institute of the Gulf, Baton Rouge, LA, meadallison@tulane.edu

Marco Bartoli, Department of Life Sciences, University of Parma, Viale Usberti 11/A, 43124, Parma, Italy

William Boicourt, University of Maryland, Horn Point Laboratory, Cambridge, MD 21613, boicourt@umces.edu

Mark J. Brush, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William and Mary, Gloucester Point, VA, brush@vims.edu

John Callaway, Department of Environmental Science, University of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA, callaway@usfca.edu

Just Cebrian, Dauphin Island Sea Lab and The University of Alabama, 101 Bienville Blvd, Dauphin Island, AL 36528, jcebrian@disl.org, http://ecosystemslab.disl.org

D. Reide Corbett, East Carolina University, Department of Geological Sciences, Greenville, NC 27858, corbettd@ecu.edu

Carolyn Currin, NOAA National Ocean Service, Center for Coastal Fisheries and Habitat Research, 101 Pivers Island Road, Beaufort, NC 28516, Carolyn.currin@noaa.gov

Ken Dunton, The University of Texas at Austin Marine Science Institute, 750 Channel View Drive, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5015, ken.dunton@mail.utexas.edu.

Deana Erdner, The University of Texas at Austin Marine Science Institute, 750 Channel View Drive, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5015, derdner@mail.utexas.edu

Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William and Mary, Gloucester Point, VA, 23062, cfried@vims.edu

Judith Grassle, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers University, Cook College Campus, P.O. Box 231, New Brunswick, NJ 08903-0231, jgrassle@imcs.rutgers.edu

Marianne Holmer, Institute of Biology, University of Southern Denmark, Campusvej 55, Odense M, 5230, Denmark, holmer@biology.sdu.dk

Lijun Hou, State Key Laboratory of Estuarine and Coastal Research, East China Normal University, Shanghai 200062, China, lijhou@sklec.ecnu.edu.cn

Carles Ibàñez Martí, Aquatic Ecosystems Program, IRTA, 43540 Sant Carles de la Ràpita, Catalonia, Spain, carles.ibanez@irta.cat

Nancy Jackson, Department of Chemistry and Environmental Science, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University Heights, Newark, NJ 07102, jacksonn@njit.edu

David Kimmel, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Alaska Fisheries Science Center, 7600 Sand Point Way NE, Seattle, WA 98115, david.kimmel@noaa.gov

Wim Kimmerer, San Francisco State University, Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental Studies, 3152 Paradise Drive, Tiburon, CA 94920, kimmerer@sfsu.ed

Zhanfei Liu, The University of Texas at Austin Marine Science Institute, Port Aransas, TX, zhanfei.liu@utexas.edu

James R. Lovvorn, Southern Illinois University, Department of Zoology, Carbondale, IL, lovvorn@siu.edu

Stephen Monismith, Stanford University, Environmental Fluid Mechanics, Stanford, CA 94305

Margaret R. Mulholland, Old Dominion University, Department of Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences, Norfolk, VA, mmulholl@odu.edu

Masahiro Nakaoka, Akkeshi Marine Station, Field Science Center for Northern Biosphere, Hokkaido University, Akkeshi, Hokkaido 088-1113, Japan, nakaoka@fsc.hokudai.ac.jp

Alf Norkko, Tvärminne Zoological Station, University of Helsinki, J.A. Palméns väg 260, FI-10900, Hanko, Finland, alf.norkko@helsinki.fi

Hans Paerl, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Institute of Marine Sciences, 3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557, hpaerl@email.unc.edu

Mark S. Peterson, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, MS, mark.peterson@usm.edu

James Pinckney, University of South Carolina, Belle W. Baruch Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Department of Biology, Georgetown, SC, jpinckney@biol.sc.edu

David Ralston, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Applied Ocean Physics and Engineering Department, Woods Hole, MA, 02543, dralston@whoi.edu

Patricia Ramey-Balci, Koç University, Rumelifeneri Yolu 34450, Sariyer, Istanbul, Turkey, RameyBalci@gmail.com

Charles T. Roman, University of Rhode Island, Graduate School of Oceanography, Narragansett, RI 02882, roman@uri.edu

Isaac Santos, Centre for Coastal Biogeochemistry, School of Environmental Science and Management, Southern Cross University PO Box 157 Lismore NSW 2480 Australia, isaac.santos@scu.edu.au

Rui Santos, Universidade do Algarve, Centro de Ciencias Do Mar Do Algarve, Campus de Gambelas, 8005-139 Faro, Portugal, rosantos@ualg.pt

Bongkeun Song, Department of Biological Sciences, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William & Mary, 1375 Greate Rd, Gloucester Point, VA 23062, songb@vims.edu

Josianne Støttrup, DTU Aqua, National Institute of Aquatic Resources, Section for Coastal Ecology, Technical University of Denmark, Charlottenlund Slot, Jaegersborg Alle 1, 2920 Charlottenlund, Denmark, jgs@aqua.dtu.dk

Nadine Strydom, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Department of Zoology, Port Elizabeth, 6031, South Africa, Nadine.Strydom@nmmu.ac.za

Dennis P. Swaney, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, E309 Corson Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853. dps1@cornell.edu

Matthew D. Taylor, New South Wales Department of Primary Industries, Port Stephens Fisheries Institute, Locked Bag 1, Nelson Bay, NSW, 2315, Australia, matt.taylor@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Stijn Temmerman, University of Antwerp, Ecosystem Management Research Group, Universiteitsplein 1, 2610 Wilrijk, Antwerp, Belgium, Stijn.temmerman@uantwerpen.be

Craig Tobias, Marine Sciences, University of Connecticut, 1080 Shennecossett Rd., Groton, CT 06340, craig.tobias@uconn.edu

Arnoldo Valle-Levinson, University of Florida, Civil and Coastal Engineering Department, 365 Weil Hall, PO Box 116580, Gainesville, FL 32611-6580

Nathan Waltham, James Cook University, Centre for Tropical Water & Aquatic Ecosystem Research, Townsville, QLD 4811, Australia, nathan.waltham@jcu.edu.au

Wen-Xiong Wang, Department of Biology, HKUST, Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong, wwang@ust.hk; http://ihome.ust.hk/~wwang/

Cathleen Wigand, US EPA, ORD-NHEERL, Atlantic Ecology Division, Narragansett, RI 02882, wigand.cathleen@epa.gov

Richard C. Zimmerman, Department of Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA, USA, rzimmerm@odu.edu

For authors and editors


  • Journal Citation Reports®
    2016 Impact Factor
  • 2.182
  • Aims and Scope

    Aims and Scope

    Close

    Estuaries and Coasts is the journal of the Coastal and Estuarine Research Federation. It publishes original research on the hydrodynamics, hydrology, (geo)chemistry, geology, biology and their interactions in marine waters influenced by connectivity to land. The journal's geographic scope includes coastal watersheds, tidal rivers, estuaries, lagoons, inland seas, wetlands, and near-shore coastal waters from polar to equatorial latitudes. The Editors encourage submissions that present novel approaches, findings or concepts of general interest to better understand the functioning and structure of coastal systems and will interest the journal's increasingly international readership. Submissions that are primarily descriptive, strongly place based, or report on development of models or new methods without detailing their applications fall outside the scope of the journal.

    Manuscripts will be judged on the basis of their contribution of original data, ideas and interpretation. Only material intended for publication in Estuaries and Coasts will be considered. Manuscripts must be written in English but may have an abstract in an alternate language when appropriate. Manuscripts will be reviewed by a member of the Editorial Board and by at least two anonymous reviewers.

     

  • Submit Online
  • Open Choice - Your Way to Open Access
  • Instructions for Authors

    Instructions for Authors

    Close

  • Instructions for Authors (download) (pdf...

Services for the Journal

Alerts for this journal

 

Get the table of contents of every new issue published in Estuaries and Coasts.