Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Engineering - Robotics | Journal of Intelligent and Robotic Systems - incl. option to publish open access (Editorial Board)

Journal of Intelligent & Robotic Systems

Journal of Intelligent & Robotic Systems

with a special section on Unmanned Systems

Editor-in-Chief: Kimon P. Valavanis

ISSN: 0921-0296 (print version)
ISSN: 1573-0409 (electronic version)

Journal no. 10846

$199.00 Personal Rate e-only for the Americas
Get Subscription

Online subscription, valid from January through December of current calendar year

Immediate access to this year's issues via SpringerLink

4 Volume(-s) with 16 issue(-s) per annual subscription

Automatic annual renewal

More information: >> FAQs // >> Policy

Founding Editor:

Spyros Tzafestas, National Technical University of Athens, Greece, tzafesta@softlab.ntua.gr

Editor-in-Chief:

Kimon P. Valavanis, University of Denver, USA, kimon.valavanis@du.edu

Assistant to the Editor-in-Chief:

Dina Fragkedaki, University of Denver, USA, fragkedaki@gmail.com

 

Executive Advisory Board:

Beno Benhabib, University of Toronto, benhabi@mie.utoronto.ca
Pascual Campoy, Universidad Politecnica Madrid, pascual.campoy@upm.es
MaryAnne Fields, Army Research Laboratory, mary.a.fields22.civ@mail.mil  
Shuzhi Sam Ge, National University of Singapore, elegesz@nus.edu.sg
Vassilis Kouikoglou, Technical University of Crete, kouik@dpem.tuc.gr
Maciej Michalek, Poznan University of Technology, maciej.michalek@put.poznzn.pl
Paul Oh, University of Nevada Las Vegas, paul.oh@unlv.edu
Anibal Ollero, Universidad de Sevilla, aollero@us.es
Daniel Pack, University of Texas San Antonio, daniel.pack@utsa.edu  
Nikos Papanikolopoulos, University of Minnesota, npapas@cs.umn.edu
Hailong Pei, South China University of Technology, auhlpei@scut.edu.cn
Yannis Phillis, Technical University of Crete, phillis@dpem.tuc.gr
Fulvia Quagliotti, Politecnico di Torino, fulvia.quagliotti@polito.it
Dominique Sauter, Nancy-University, dominique.sauter@cran.uhp-nancy.fr
Tarek Sobh, University of Bridgeport, sobh@bridgeport.edu
Javier Ruiz-del-Solar, Universidad de Chile, jruizd@cec.uchile.cl
George Vachtsevanos, Georgia Institute of Technology, gjv@ece.gatech.edu
Alfredo Weitzenfeld, University of South Florida, aweitzenfeld@usf.edu  

Editors-at-Large:

Stjepan Bogdan, University of Zagreb, stjepan.bogdan@fer.hr   
Yangquan Chen, University of California, Merced, yangquan.chen@ucmerced.edu
Sesh Commuri, University of Oklahoma, scommuri@ou.edu  
Xenofon Koutsoukos, Vanderbilt University, Xenofon.koutsoukos@vanderbilt.edu
Zhijun Li, South China University of Technology, zjli@ieee.org  
Rogelio Lozano, U de Technologie de Compiègne, rogelio.lozano@hds.utc.fr
Maja Matijasevic, University of Zagreb, maja.matijasevic@fer.hr
Giovanni Muscato, Università degli Studi di Catania, gmuscato@dees.unict.it
Ahmad Rad, Simon Fraser University, arad@sfu.ca  
Margareta Stefanovic, University of Denver, mstefan8@du.edu
Didier Theilliol, University of Lorraine, Didier.theilliol@univ-lorraine.fr
Antonios Tsourdos, Cranfield University, a.tsourdos@cranfield.ac.uk   
Nikos Tsourveloudis, Technical University of Crete, nikost@dpem.tuc.gr
Kostas Tzafestas, NTU Athens, ktzaf@softlab.ece.ntua.gr
Youmin Zhang, Concordia University, ymzhang@encs.concordia.ca
Primo Zingaretti, U Politecnica delle Marche, p.zingaretti@univpm.it

Senior Editors:

Julie A. Adams, Vanderbilt University, julie.a.adams@vanderbilt.edu  
A-Nasser Ansari, Qatar National Research Fund, analansari@qnrf.org
Luis Mejias Alvarez, Queensland University of Technology, luis.mejias@qut.edu.au
David Casbeer, AFRL, WPAFB, david.casbeer@wpafb.af.mil
Jorge M. M. Dias, ISR – University of Coimbra, jorge@isr.uc.pt
Mário Sarcinelli Filho, Universidade Federal do Espirito Santo, mario.sarcinelli@ufes.br
Fumiya Iida, University of Cambridge, fi224@cam.ac.uk
Gianluca Ippoliti, Universita Politecnica delle Marche gianluca.ippoliti@univpm.it
Abderrahmane Kheddar, Japan / France, kheddar@lirmm.fr  
Alan Lynch, University of Alberta, alan.lynch@ualberta.ca
Mohammad Mahoor, University of Denver, mmahoor@du.edu
Roberto Sabatini, RMIT University, roberto.sabatini@rmit.edu.au
Amir Shapiro, Ben Gurion University, ashapiro@bgu.ac.il

Editors:

Hyo-Sung Ahn, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, hyosung@gist.ac.kr  
Kostas Alexis, University of Nevada, Reno, kalexis@unr.edu
Erdinç Altuğ, Istanbul Technical University, altuger@itu.edu.tr  
Iván F. Mondragón Bernal, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, imontragon@javeriana.edu.co  
Kalinka Branco, University of Sao Paolo, kalinka@icmc.usp.br
Rongxin Cui, Northwestern Polytechnical University-China, r.cui@nwpu.edu.cn  
Hugo Rodriguez Cortes, CINVESTAV, Mexico, hrodriguez@cinvestav.mx
Anthony Finn, D&SI, U of South Australia, Anthony.Finn@unisa.edu.au
Luiz Marcos Goncalves, U Federal Do Rio Grande Do Norte, lmarcos@dca.ufrn.br
Nuno Ricardo Gracias, University of Girona, ngracias@silver.udg.edu
Wei He, University of Electronic Science & Technology of China, hewei.ac@gmail.com  
Ivan Maza, University of Seville, imaza@us.es
Miguel Angel Olivares-Mendez, University of Luxembourg, miguel.olivaresmendez@uni.lu  
Dejan Milutinovic, University of California, Santa Cruz, dejan@soe.ucsc.edu
Andrea Monteriù, Università Politecnica delle Marche, a.monteriu@univpm.it
George Nikolakopoulos, Luleå University of Technology, geonik@ltu.se
Srikanth Saripalli, Arizona State University, Srikanth.Saripalli@asu.edu
Horst Schulte, University of Applied Sciences, HTW Berlin, Horst.Schulte@HTW-Berlin.de
PB Sujit, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, India, pbsujit@yahoo.com
Francisco Curado Teixeira, University of Aveiro, Portugal, fcurado@ua.pt

For authors and editors


  • Journal Citation Reports®, Thomson Reuters
    2015 Impact Factor
  • 0.932
  • Aims and Scope

    Aims and Scope

    Close

    Aims and Scope

    The Journal of Intelligent and Robotic Systems (JINT) aims at publishing the most recent advances in the fields of systems and control, robotics and automation, mechatronics, unmanned systems, machine intelligence, bioengineering and other related areas in which cutting edge technologies have been developed and applied to model, design, develop and test complex engineering systems and autonomous systems. The main objective of JINT is to publish peer-reviewed and original contributed papers, invited and survey papers that promote and disseminate scientific knowledge and information to the readers.

    Recognizing the importance of Unmanned Systems (or, Unmanned Vehicle Systems, UVS) for both civilian/public domain and military applications, JINT has a special section in each issue devoted to Unmanned Systems, focusing on all four classes of aerial, ground, sea-surface and underwater vehicles, the common characteristic of which is the absence on-board the vehicle of a human operator. As Unmanned Systems have seen unprecedented levels of growth over the last twenty years, and they are expected to dominate future applications in diverse domains, JINT is at the forefront of reporting scientific breakthroughs in UVS.

    The Journal of Intelligent and Robotic Systems covers the whole technical spectrum from the birth of an idea at the conceptual level to a potential product development. It publishes original, archival, peer reviewed contributions from the initial concept, to theory, to simulation, to validation and verification, to experimentation, to prototyping, to testing, to implementation and refinement, to final product development and commercialization. It provides a unique forum that bridges gaps between the diverse disciplines of System Theory, Mathematics, Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence and Engineering, extending to the matured field of Soft Computing, as well as to the field of Computational Intelligence and Cognitive Sciences, all necessary components of modern intelligent systems, robotics, unmanned vehicle systems, mechatronics and modern manufacturing. JINT provides a unique medium to present/discuss future directions in advanced control technology and applications, intelligent and autonomous systems, computational intelligence, computational methods for system design, handling and incorporating uncertainty in system design and control, novel and cutting edge technologies as applied to complex systems including mechatronic systems and unmanned vehicle systems.

    The purpose of the special section in unmanned systems goes beyond traditional navigation and control challenges, aiming at offering opportunities to publish original research in see-and-avoid, sense-detect-and-avoid systems, robust, resilient and fault-tolerant control systems, prognostics and diagnostics, autonomy, manned-unmanned swarms and robot teams, formation control, and network-controlled systems. When focusing on Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS), JINT offers the forum to publish research related to policies, procedures, regulations, safety, risk analysis assessment, airworthiness, certification issues, operational constraints, standardization, frequency management, all of paramount importance, which, coupled with 'smart', 'environmentally friendly' cutting edge technologies pave the way towards full integration of UAS with manned aviation and into the national airspace.

    As such, JINT lays the foundation for a common framework for publication of ideas, derivation and testing of techniques that combine Theory, Science, Engineering and Mathematics, leading to future innovations and novel technologies.

    On the theoretical side, papers focusing on intelligent systems engineering, distributed intelligence systems, multi-level systems, intelligent control, multi-robot systems, control, cooperation and coordination of unmanned vehicle systems, biologically inspired robotics and swarms, outlining new concepts and approaches in their related fields are equally welcome.

    On the application side, emphasis is given to autonomous systems, industrial robotic systems, multi-robot systems, aerial vehicles, mobile robot platforms, sea-surface vehicles, underwater robots, sensors, sensor-fusion, sensor-based control, focusing on sensory control problems. Papers on real applications of intelligent and robotic systems (mechatronics, manufacturing systems, biomedical systems, underwater, humanoid, mobile/legged robot and space applications, etc.) are most welcome.

    The journal aims at bridging the gap between theory and practice, and intends to stimulate interaction between faculty, researchers, engineers and practitioners from academia, industry and government focusing on theoretical and applied research in all areas of intelligent systems and robotics.

  • Submit Online
  • Open Choice - Your Way to Open Access
  • Instructions for Authors

    Instructions for Authors

    Close

  • Author Academy: Training for Authors
  • call for paper (pdf, 54 kB)
  • English Language Editing

    English Language Editing

    Close

  • Copyright Information

    Copyright Information

    Close

    Copyright Information

    For Authors

    Submission of a manuscript implies: that the work described has not been published before (except in form of an abstract or as part of a published lecture, review or thesis); that it is not under consideration for publication elsewhere; that its publication has been approved by all co-authors, if any, as well as – tacitly or explicitly – by the responsible authorities at the institution where the work was carried out.

    Author warrants (i) that he/she is the sole owner or has been authorized by any additional copyright owner to assign the right, (ii) that the article does not infringe any third party rights and no license from or payments to a third party is required to publish the article and (iii) that the article has not been previously published or licensed. The author signs for and accepts responsibility for releasing this material on behalf of any and all co-authors. Transfer of copyright to Springer (respective to owner if other than Springer) becomes effective if and when a Copyright Transfer Statement is signed or transferred electronically by the corresponding author. After submission of the Copyright Transfer Statement signed by the corresponding author, changes of authorship or in the order of the authors listed will not be accepted by Springer.

    The copyright to this article, including any graphic elements therein (e.g. illustrations, charts, moving images), is assigned for good and valuable consideration to Springer effective if and when the article is accepted for publication and to the extent assignable if assignability is restricted for by applicable law or regulations (e.g. for U.S. government or crown employees).

    The copyright assignment includes without limitation the exclusive, assignable and sublicensable right, unlimited in time and territory, to reproduce, publish, distribute, transmit, make available and store the article, including abstracts thereof, in all forms of media of expression now known or developed in the future, including pre- and reprints, translations, photographic reproductions and microform. Springer may use the article in whole or in part in electronic form, such as use in databases or data networks for display, print or download to stationary or portable devices. This includes interactive and multimedia use and the right to alter the article to the extent necessary for such use.

    Authors may self-archive the Author's accepted manuscript of their articles on their own websites. Authors may also deposit this version of the article in any repository, provided it is only made publicly available 12 months after official publication or later. He/she may not use the publisher's version (the final article), which is posted on SpringerLink and other Springer websites, for the purpose of self-archiving or deposit. Furthermore, the Author may only post his/her version provided acknowledgement is given to the original source of publication and a link is inserted to the published article on Springer's website. The link must be accompanied by the following text: "The final publication is available at link.springer.com".

    Prior versions of the article published on non-commercial pre-print servers like arXiv.org can remain on these servers and/or can be updated with Author's accepted version. The final published version (in pdf or html/xml format) cannot be used for this purpose. Acknowledgement needs to be given to the final publication and a link must be inserted to the published article on Springer's website, accompanied by the text "The final publication is available at link.springer.com". Author retains the right to use his/her article for his/her further scientific career by including the final published journal article in other publications such as dissertations and postdoctoral qualifications provided acknowledgement is given to the original source of publication.

    Author is requested to use the appropriate DOI for the article. Articles disseminated via link.springer.com are indexed, abstracted and referenced by many abstracting and information services, bibliographic networks, subscription agencies, library networks, and consortia.

    For Readers

    While the advice and information in this journal is believed to be true and accurate at the date of its publication, neither the authors, the editors, nor the publisher can accept any legal responsibility for any errors or omissions that may have been made. The publisher makes no warranty, express or implied, with respect to the material contained herein.

    All articles published in this journal are protected by copyright, which covers the exclusive rights to reproduce and distribute the article (e.g., as offprints), as well as all translation rights. No material published in this journal may be reproduced photographically or stored on microfilm, in electronic data bases, video disks, etc., without first obtaining written permission from the publisher (respective the copyright owner if other than Springer). The use of general descriptive names, trade names, trademarks, etc., in this publication, even if not specifically identified, does not imply that these names are not protected by the relevant laws and regulations.

    Springer has partnered with Copyright Clearance Center's RightsLink service to offer a variety of options for reusing Springer content. For permission to reuse our content please locate the material that you wish to use on link.springer.com or on springerimages.com and click on the permissions link or go to copyright.com, then enter the title of the publication that you wish to use. For assistance in placing a permission request, Copyright Clearance Center can be connected directly via phone: +1-855-239-3415, fax: +1-978-646-8600, or e-mail: info@copyright.com.


    © Springer Science+Business Media Dordrecht

Services for the Journal

Alerts for this journal

 

Get the table of contents of every new issue published in Journal of Intelligent & Robotic Systems.


Additional information