Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

Computer Science - Image Processing | Visual Computer - incl. option to publish open access (Editorial Board)

The Visual Computer

The Visual Computer

International Journal of Computer Graphics

Editor-in-Chief: Nadia Magnenat-Thalmann

ISSN: 0178-2789 (print version)
ISSN: 1432-2315 (electronic version)

Journal no. 371

$199.00 Personal Rate e-only for the Americas
Get Subscription

Online subscription, valid from January through December of current calendar year

Immediate access to this year's issues via SpringerLink

1 Volume(-s) with 12 issue(-s) per annual subscription

Automatic annual renewal

More information: >> FAQs // >> Policy

Editor-in-Chief

Nadia Magnenat-Thalmann
MIRALab-CUI
University of Geneva
Battelle, Building A
7, Route de Drize 
CH-1227 Carouge, Geneva, Switzerland
thalmann@miralab.ch
http://www.miralab.ch/

Associate Editors-in-Chief

Hui Huang
Shenzhen University, China
huihuang@szu.edu.cn

Daniele Panozzo
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences New York University, USA
panozzo@nyu.edu

Hyewon Seo
CNRS and University of Strasbourg, France
seo@unistra.fr

Editorial Assistance

Nisha Jain & Manoj Ramanathan 

Founding Editor

Tosiyasu L. Kunii
Abeja, Inc., Japan
kunii@morphoinc.com

Editorial Board

Neeharika Adabala
CybULab, Bangalore, India, neeharik@gmail.com

Yiannis Aloimonos
University of Maryland, College Park, USA, yiannis@cs.umd.edu

Selim Balcisoy
Sabanci University, Istanbul, Turkey, balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu

Nadia Berthouze
University College London, UK, n.berthouze@ucl.ac.uk

Nicolas Bonneel
CNRS/Univ. Lyon, France, nicolas.bonneel@liris.cnrs.fr

Prosenjit
K. Bose
Carleton University, Canada, jit@scs.carleton.ca

Adrien Bousseau
Inria, Université Cote d'Azur, France, adrien.bousseau@inria.fr

Jianfei Cai
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, ASJFCai@ntu.edu.sg

Tolga Çapın
TED University, Turkey, tolga.capin@tedu.edu.tr

Lap-Pui Chau
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, elpchau@ntu.edu.sg

Falai Chen
University of Science and Technology of China, China, chenfl@ustc.edu.cn

Jie Chen
University of Oulu, Finland, jiechen2054@gmail.com

Marc Christie
University of Rennes 1, France, Marc.christie@irisa.fr

David Coeurjolly
Laboratoire LIRIS, France, david.coeurjolly@liris.cnrs.fr 

Frederic Cordier
University of Haute Alsace and University of Strasbourg,  France, Frederic.Cordier@uha.fr

Remi Cozot
IRISA, University of Rennes 1, France, Remi.cozot@irisa.fr

Jean-Michel Dischler
University of Strasbourg, France, dischler@unistra.fr

Parris K. Egbert
Brigham Young University, USA, egbert@cs.byu.edu

Petros Faloutsos
York University, Canada, pfal@cse.yorku.ca

Marina Gavrilova
University of Calgary, Canada, mgavrilo@ucalgary.ca

Enrico Gobbetti
Visual Computing Group, The Center for Advanced Studies, Research and Development in Sardinia, Italy, gobbetti@crs4.it

Tal Hassner
University of Southern California, USA, and the Open University of Israel, Israel, talhassner@gmail.com

Hua Huang

Beijing Institute of Technology, China, huahuang@bit.edu.cn

Rongrong Ji
School of Information Science and Engineering, Xiamen University, China, rrji@xmu.edu.cn

Ramakrishna Kakarala
Synaptics, Inc, USA, Ram.Kakarala@synaptics.com

Prem Kalra
Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India, pkalra@cse.iitd.ernet.in

Matthew Kyan
University of York, Canada, mkyan@cse.yorku.ca

HyungSeok Kim
Konkuk University, Korea, hyuskim@konkuk.ac.kr

Jinman Kim
University of Sydney, Australia, jinman.kim@sydney.edu.au

Walter Kropatsch
Vienna University of Technology, Austria, krw@prip.tuwien.ac.at

Arjan Kuijper
Fraunhofer IGD & TU Darmstadt, Germany, arjan.kuijper@igd.fraunhofer.de

Florent Lafarge
INRIA Sophia Antipolis Méditerranée, France, florent.lafarge@inria.fr

Yu-Kun Lai
Cardiff University, UK, LaiY4@cardiff.ac.uk

Guillaume Lavoue
LIRIS, INSA- CNRS, Lyon, France, glavoue@liris.cnrs.fr

Seungyong Lee
Pohang Univ. of Sci. & Tech. (POSTECH), South Korea, leesy@postech.ac.kr

Bruno Levy
Inria, France, Bruno.Levy@inria.fr

Frederic Fol Leymarie
Goldsmiths, University of London, London, UK, ffl@gold.ac.uk

Jia Li
Yahoo Labs, USA, lijiali@yahoo-inc.com

Liang Lin
Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou, China, linliang@ieee.org

Yaron Lipman
Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, Yaron.lipman@weizmann.ac.il

Li Liu
National University of Defense Technology, China, liuli_nudt@nudt.edu.cn

Ligang Liu
University of Science and Technology of China, China, lgliu@ustc.edu.cn

Risheng Liu
Dalian University of Technology, China, rsliu@dlut.edu.cn

Xiaoyang Mao
University of Yamanashi,  Japan, mao@yamanashi.ac.jp

Jingjing Meng
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, jingjing.meng1@gmail.com

Bochang Moon
Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea, moonbochang@gmail.com

Masayuki Nakajima
Uppsala University, Sweden, nakajima.masayuki@gmail.com

Ahmad H. Nasri
Lebanese National Council for Scientific Research, Lebanon, anasri.82@gmail.com

Luciana Porcher Nedel
Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil, nedel@inf.ufrgs.br

Victor Ostromoukhov
Claude Bernard University of Lyon 1, France, victor.ostromoukhov@liris.cnrs.fr

Zhigeng Pan
Hangzhou Normal University, China, zgpan@cad.zju.edu.cn

George Papagiannakis
University of Crete, Greece, papagian@ics.forth.gr

Werner Purgathofer                                                                                                                                                                              
Vienna University of Technology; Austria, wp@cg.tuwien.ac.at

Hong Qin
State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA, qin@cs.sunysb.edu

Beatriz Remeseiro
University of Oviedo, Spain, bremeseiro@uniovi.es

Bodo Rosenhahn
Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany, rosenhahn@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Jarek Rossignac

Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA, jarek@cc.gatech.edu

Holly Rushmeier
Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, holly.rushmeier@yale.edu

Gerik Scheuermann

University of Leipzig, Germany, scheuer@informatik.uni-leipzig.de

Leonid Sigal
University of British Columbia, Canada, lsigal@cs.ubc.ca

Claudio T. Silva
Polytechnic Institute of New York University, USA, csilva@nyu.edu

Oh-young Song

Sejong University, Seoul, Korea, oysong@sejong.ac.kr

Alexei Sourin
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, assourin@ntu.edu.sg

Michela Spagnuolo
IMATI-CNR, Genova, Italy, michela.spagnuolo@ge.imati.cnr.it​

Didier Stricker
Technical University Kaiserslautern and DFKI, Germany, Didier.Stricker@dfki.de

Yu-Wing Tai
SenseTime Group Limited, Hong Kong, yuwing@sensetime.com

Jinhui Tang
Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China, jinhuitang@njust.edu.cn

Daniel Thalmann
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore and EPFL, Switzerland, daniel.thalmann@epfl.ch

Nobuyuki Umetani
Autodesk Research, Canada, nobuyuki.umetani@autodesk.com

Amir Vaxman
Utrecht University, The Netherlands, a.vaxman@uu.nl

Hongcheng Wang
Comcast Labs, USA, Hongcheng.Wang@gmail.com

Daniel Weiskopf 
University of Stuttgart, Germany, Daniel.Weiskopf@visus.uni-stuttgart.de

Franz-Erich Wolter
Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany, few@gdv.uni-hannover.de

Tien-Tsin Wong 
Chinese University of Hong Kong, China, ttwong@cse.cuhk.edu.hk

Enhua Wu
University of Macau, China and Academica Sinica, Beijing, ehwu@umac.mo

Kevin Xu
National University of Defense Technology, (NUDT) China, kevin.kai.xu@gmail.com

Junfeng Yao
Xiamen University, China, yao0010@xmu.edu.cn

Cai Yiyu
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, myycai@ntu.edu.sg

Jingyi Yu

University of Delaware, USA, yu@eecis.udel.edu

Junsong Yuan
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, jsyuan@ntu.edu.sg

Zerrin Yumak
Utrecht University, The Netherlands, Z.Yumak@uu.nl

Kang Zhang
University of Texas at Dallas, USA, kzhang@utdallas.edu

Jian J Zhang
Bournemouth University, Dorset, UK, jzhang@bournemouth.ac.uk

Richard (Hao) Zhang
Simon Fraser University, Canada, haoz@cs.sfu.ca

Jianmin Zheng
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, ASJMZheng@ntu.edu.sg

Wenming Zheng
Southeast University,  China, wenming_zheng@seu.edu.cn

Youyi Zheng
ShanghaiTech University, China, zhengyy@shanghaitech.edu.cn

Kun Zhou
Zhejiang University, China, kunzhou@acm.org

Matthias Zwicker
University of Bern, Switzerland, Zwicker@inf.unibe.ch

Read this Journal on Springerlink

For authors and editors


  • Journal Citation Reports®
    2016 Impact Factor
  • 1.468
  • Aims and Scope

    Aims and Scope

    Close

    The Visual Computer publishes articles on all research fields of  capturing, recognizing, modelling, analysing and generating shapes and images. It includes image understanding, machine learning for graphics and 3D fabrication.

    • 3D Reconstruction
    • Computer Animation
    • Computational Fabrication
    • Computational Geometry                 
    • Computational Photography                  
    • Computer Vision for Computer Graphics  
    • Data Compression for Graphics
    • Geometric Modelling
    • Geometric Processing
    • HCI and Computer Graphics
    • Human Modelling
    • Image Analysis
    • Image Based Rendering                         
    • Image Processing
    • Machine Learning for Graphics
    • Medical Imaging  
    • Pattern Recognition
    • Physically Based Modelling
    • Illumination and Rendering Methods  
    • Robotics and Vision
    • Saliency Methods 
    • Scientific Visualization
    • Shape and Surface Modelling
    • Shape Analysis and Image Retrieval
    • Shape Matching
    • Sketch-based Modelling
    • Solid Modelling
    • Stylized rendering
    • Textures
    • Virtual and Augmented Reality
    • Visual Analytics
    • Volume Rendering

    All papers are subject to thorough review and, if accepted, will be revised accordingly.

    Original contributions, describing advances in the theory in the above mentioned fields as well as practical results and original applications, are invited.

  • Submit Online
  • Open Choice - Your Way to Open Access
  • Instructions for Authors

    Instructions for Authors

    Close

  • CFP: Special Issue on Geometric Modeling...
  • Author Academy: Training for Authors
  • English Language Editing

    English Language Editing

    Close

  • Copyright Information

    Copyright Information

    Close

    Copyright Information

    For Authors

    Submission of a manuscript implies: that the work described has not been published before (except in form of an abstract or as part of a published lecture, review or thesis); that it is not under consideration for publication elsewhere; that its publication has been approved by all co-authors, if any, as well as – tacitly or explicitly – by the responsible authorities at the institution where the work was carried out.

    Author warrants (i) that he/she is the sole owner or has been authorized by any additional copyright owner to assign the right, (ii) that the article does not infringe any third party rights and no license from or payments to a third party is required to publish the article and (iii) that the article has not been previously published or licensed. The author signs for and accepts responsibility for releasing this material on behalf of any and all co-authors. Transfer of copyright to Springer (respective to owner if other than Springer) becomes effective if and when a Copyright Transfer Statement is signed or transferred electronically by the corresponding author. After submission of the Copyright Transfer Statement signed by the corresponding author, changes of authorship or in the order of the authors listed will not be accepted by Springer.

    The copyright to this article, including any graphic elements therein (e.g. illustrations, charts, moving images), is assigned for good and valuable consideration to Springer effective if and when the article is accepted for publication and to the extent assignable if assignability is restricted for by applicable law or regulations (e.g. for U.S. government or crown employees).

    The copyright assignment includes without limitation the exclusive, assignable and sublicensable right, unlimited in time and territory, to reproduce, publish, distribute, transmit, make available and store the article, including abstracts thereof, in all forms of media of expression now known or developed in the future, including pre- and reprints, translations, photographic reproductions and microform. Springer may use the article in whole or in part in electronic form, such as use in databases or data networks for display, print or download to stationary or portable devices. This includes interactive and multimedia use and the right to alter the article to the extent necessary for such use.

    Authors may self-archive the Author's accepted manuscript of their articles on their own websites. Authors may also deposit this version of the article in any repository, provided it is only made publicly available 12 months after official publication or later. He/she may not use the publisher's version (the final article), which is posted on SpringerLink and other Springer websites, for the purpose of self-archiving or deposit. Furthermore, the Author may only post his/her version provided acknowledgement is given to the original source of publication and a link is inserted to the published article on Springer's website. The link must be accompanied by the following text: "The final publication is available at link.springer.com".

    Prior versions of the article published on non-commercial pre-print servers like arXiv.org can remain on these servers and/or can be updated with Author's accepted version. The final published version (in pdf or html/xml format) cannot be used for this purpose. Acknowledgement needs to be given to the final publication and a link must be inserted to the published article on Springer's website, accompanied by the text "The final publication is available at link.springer.com". Author retains the right to use his/her article for his/her further scientific career by including the final published journal article in other publications such as dissertations and postdoctoral qualifications provided acknowledgement is given to the original source of publication.

    Author is requested to use the appropriate DOI for the article. Articles disseminated via link.springer.com are indexed, abstracted and referenced by many abstracting and information services, bibliographic networks, subscription agencies, library networks, and consortia.

    For Readers

    While the advice and information in this journal is believed to be true and accurate at the date of its publication, neither the authors, the editors, nor the publisher can accept any legal responsibility for any errors or omissions that may have been made. The publisher makes no warranty, express or implied, with respect to the material contained herein.

    All articles published in this journal are protected by copyright, which covers the exclusive rights to reproduce and distribute the article (e.g., as offprints), as well as all translation rights. No material published in this journal may be reproduced photographically or stored on microfilm, in electronic data bases, video disks, etc., without first obtaining written permission from the publisher (respective the copyright owner if other than Springer). The use of general descriptive names, trade names, trademarks, etc., in this publication, even if not specifically identified, does not imply that these names are not protected by the relevant laws and regulations.

    Springer has partnered with Copyright Clearance Center's RightsLink service to offer a variety of options for reusing Springer content. For permission to reuse our content please locate the material that you wish to use on link.springer.com or on springerimages.com and click on the permissions link or go to copyright.com, then enter the title of the publication that you wish to use. For assistance in placing a permission request, Copyright Clearance Center can be connected directly via phone: +1-855-239-3415, fax: +1-978-646-8600, or e-mail: info@copyright.com.


    © Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg

Services for the Journal

Alerts for this journal

 

Get the table of contents of every new issue published in The Visual Computer.