Logo - springer
Slogan - springer

About Springer - What we do - Springer in China | CHEN Yun-tai

CHEN Yun-tai

CHEN Yun-tai

Professor and Honorary Director Institute of Geophysics, China Earthquake Administration / Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences


1962: B. Sc., Department of Geophysics, Peking (Beijing) University, Beijing, China.
1966: Ph. D., Institute of Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China.
1980.1-1983.10, Visiting scholar, Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics, University of California, Los Angeles, USA.

Academic Posts 

Professor and Honorary Director, Institute of Geophysics, China Earthquake Administration.
Professor and Honorary Dean of School of Earth and Space Sciences, Peking (Beijing) University.


1986-1991, 1995-2000, 2011 to date: President, Seismological Society of China.
1991 to date: Member, the Chinese Academy of Sciences.
1997 to date: Vice Chairman, Earth Sciences Division, Chinese Academy of Sciences.
1999 to date: Fellow, Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS).
2000-2011: Standing Member, National Committee of China Association for Science and Technology.
2003-2011: Bureau Member, International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG).
2003 to date: Chairman, China National Committee for IUGG
He also serves as Editor-in-Chief of Springer co-published journal Earthquake Science.

Research Fields 

Geophysics. Chen’s research is focused on source process of the significant earthquakes, crack models of earthquake source and simulation of earthquake sequences, retrieval of complexities of earthquake source from digital broadband seismic data, near-source strong ground motion of earthquakes and underground nuclear explosions, and rotational seismology. He is an author on approximately 200 scientific publications, including one textbook Fundamentals of Geophysics as co-author.

Honors & Awards 

1. Award of National Congress of Sciences of China, 1978.
2. National Distinguished Scientist appointed by the National Sciences and Technology Commission of China, 1986.
3. Medal awarded by the Luxembourg for scientific achievements and promotion of friendship between Chinese and Luxembourg people, 1987.
4. Third Class National Award of Natural Sciences, 1987.
5. Second Class Awards of Progress of Sciences and Technology of the State Seismological Bureau, China, 1983, 1983, 1988.
6. First Class Award of Progress of Sciences and Technology of the State Seismological Bureau, China, 1998.
7. Third Class National Award of Progress of Science and Technology of China, 1998.
8. Ho Leung Ho Lee (HLHL) Science and Technology Progress Award, 2000.
9. American Geophysical Union International Award, 2010.